top of page
Untitled design (1)_edited.jpg
DTS 1001.png
  • Writer's pictureRads

Ɛνëë B͓̽ℓαςкşтΔя @ St. Elizabeths University on 15/04/2023

Updated: Apr 17, 2023

A long time (40 years) ago, in a land far, far, far (the lower Hudson Valley of New York) away I attended a college with an 87% male population. Sad to say at the least. Fortunately, there was, in that region, a plethora of all girls colleges. Classmates would gather and travel to them for a little culture, entertainment, and perhaps, the chance of romance. I recall a few of these trips quite vividly. Sadly, many were fuzzy at the time (do people still order beer in pitchers?) and time has no good for my retention of so many of the details. Imagine my surprise to discover an SL version of an all girls' college when I was stalking one of my favorite singers. St. Elizabeth's University is a functioning educational role play sim which includes dorms, classes, administration buildings and, of course a music venue. You can get a list of classes offered at St. Elizabeth's on their Google calendar here. While role play is a part of St. Elizabeth's attraction, the classes are seriously prepared. There are also rentals and variety of the activities you might find in any college town.

The singer who drew me to this neat find in SL today was incomparable Ɛνëë B͓̽ℓαςкşтΔя, or Evee as we all use in chat. I've been privileged to follow Evee's shows for a couple of years now. Every time I hear her voice, I'm reminded of the depth of talent in the SL music world. If first found her when I was engaged in a serious period of antistalking*. One of the "hideouts" happened to be a venue where I heard Evee for the first time. I was hooked by her powerful vocals, engaging humor, and perhaps, a curve or two.

Tonight's tour de force started with Lizzo's "Good As Hell", followed by Colbie Callait's "Bubbly". And bubbly is what the crowd was. I could almost smell the Long Island sound of New Rochelle again as I was the coeds dance. Evee certainly raised the bar for fun with this crowd. If you don't know, she can sing musical numbers and today's first one was "I Know It's Today" from Shrek: The Musical. She followed it up with a killer rendition of "How Far I'll Go" from Moana.

While I enjoy Evee's killer musical numbers, I am hooked by her domination of some classics from my mis-spent youth. She demonstrated this with Nena's Cold War hit "99 Red Balloons". (Maybe St Elizabeth's has a language department and Evee can learn German?). By the time the song was over most of the crowd were sporting red balloons. Not quite 99, but enough to have a great party. So, we know Evee can do musicals, and 80s pop, she's the queen of all media as she proved with "Thank You For Being A Friend" from the Golden Girls (yes, I know I'm older than they all were when they started. I hear this all the time).

Evee's strong suit is power songs, and Blondie's "Call Me" is exactly the kind song to showcase this power. She certainly did today. I could see boat drink glasses on the bar jumping as her powerful voice drove this song. None of her shows are complete without a healthy dose of fun, and today's came in the form of The Guild's "Do You Wanna Date My Avatar?" (On the advice of counsel, I decline to answer). Next up was ICP's "Fuck The World", then "Confident" from Demi Lovato.

The final trio of songs we were able to enjoy on this Saturday afternoon started with Taylor Swift's "Look What You Made Me Do", then Cyndi Lauper's explanation of so many things "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun" and finally, after an hour that flew faster than the jets in Nena's 99 Red Balloons, Shania Twain's "That Don't Impress Me Much". While Shania wasn't impressed, the crowd at St. Elizabeth's certainly was!

What's to know about this snappy little red-headed vixen? As a Boston native, Evee is always seen practicing her vocals with an iced coffee in hand. Cutting her teeth on the renaissance circuit at 17, and getting her first professional gig at 19, she has been in the industry professionally for 14 years, and as a hobbyist for 23 years. Trained by her incredible coach who has also worked with names such as Stephen Tyler, Pink, and the original cast of Rent, her musical taste is everywhere from 'mouse world classics' to Rock and everything in between (yes, even country). So, if you're looking for some great music, and some great laughs, come join us!

*Antistalking (v.): learning a person's routine in order to avoid them.






bottom of page