top of page
Untitled design (1)_edited.jpg
DTS 1001.png
  • Writer's pictureRads

Steven Dobias @ Cafe Musique 03/04/2023

Updated: Apr 6, 2023

Was happy to learn the rumors of Governor Linden doing away with live musique were exactly that (how do these things get started anyway?). Just to confirm I headed down to Café Musique Monday to see for myself. I'm happy to report all was well. Apparently there is a new trend in SL, because just after I landed, people started pointing at me and yelling "Turdasshat!". I'm not sure, but I think that might mean "funny guy" in some language Google Translate doesn't.


Anyway, I looked around as all was as it should in this wonderful sim. Today's show was outside. Did you know the amazing Laya Sugarplum hosts a writer's circle every Tuesday morning (at some UNGODLY hour). I'm assured this a fun and safe place for aspiring, and accomplished song writers to develop and share their skills.

Speaking of song writers, today's show was delivered by the incredibly talented Steven Dobias. In addition to be an accomplished musician, he writes fantastic originals, including several he played today. This show started with Christina Perry's "1,000 years", followed by the first of several originals, "Hangfire". Reaching into the way back machine, he brough Johnny Nash's 1972 hit, "I Can See Clearly Now" Apropos of nothing, this song always reminds me of being 14, riding to work on HWY 94 in San Diego County, and going in and out of fog/clouds until we got to Potrero. Steven followed this with the 1973 Bob Dylan smash "Knocking On Heaven's Door", which reminds me that under the right conditions, a person of questionable vocal quality can achieve fame.

Next up the John Denver classic, "Country Roads", followed by two more originals, "There are Things Worth Fighting For" and "The Land We Built For Two". Both solid songs with interesting lyrics. Next up was the Simon and Garfunkel hit, "The Boxer", followed by The Four Season's "December 1963 (Oh What A Night)". Some of you have heard my story about this and "Rocky Mountain High". Next time we're sitting at a Jam and I've had a few, be sure and ask me. As my mind was brought forward from the late summer of 1976, Steven sang his original "Harbor Away".


There are a few songs that would make great movies. I think Jim Croce's "Bad Bad Leroy Brown" is one of those, and Steven did it justice (and then some). I can just picture a full length feature expanding this song out. Better yet, set it in Nebraska. Any producers out there listening? After we learned about the lesson Leroy Brown learned, Steven shared two more of his originals, "Pride Comes Before the Fall" (don't it though?) and "Coffee To Go" (which is my favorite Steven Dobias song).

This entirely entertaining hour ended with a soulful rendition of "What A Wonderful World". Steven is another of the amazing musicians who plays over tracks THAT HE MAKES!!! Again, for the musician readers, it seems like ho-hum. For us mortals, it really is as near magic as we’ll see without a top hat. I encourage you to track down Steven as soon as you can and enjoy your hour as much as I did.

Its no wonder Steven appeared on the Café Musique beach stage with a GCD - D35 Acoustic Guitar. He is a singer and piano player from a very young age and learned to play guitar at the Old Town School of Folk Music in Chicago. A songwriter, vocalist, pianist, keyboardist, guitarist, bassist and drummer, he is also a recording, mixing and mastering engineer and he produces and releases his own compositions. He has been writing music since he was 7 years old - and today - writing music is like therapy. Steven recorded an album, "Brand New Day" in 2013 at Pharaoh's House in Belmont Michigan (no longer active). Since then he has learned to self produce his own material and continues to release singles. They can be found on iTunes, Amazon, Deezer, Spotify, Soundcould, ReverbNation, etc.




bottom of page