top of page
Untitled design (1)_edited.jpg
DTS 1001.png
  • Writer's pictureRads

Melly Faith @ Kultivate Windlight Gallery 02/04/2023

Sunday afternoon and I was ready for a break from my next secret project, so I decided to head out to a show. As my faithful reader(s) know(s), there is no shortage of good music to be found in SecondLife and this weekend was no exception. Spinning the giant "Where To Now" wheel it landed on a venue I'd not been to before, the Kultivate Magazine & Windlight Art Gallery where John, (Johannes Huntsman) owner and builder shared a bit about this venue and gallery. The Windlight gallery is just one of many on the sim (more to explore later!). This gallery has been open since 2015 and you can find more about it in their online magazine. I appreciated the open layout, which made it easy to take in the amazing art (more about that later).

As my fan(s) know(s), I blog about music, so it was fortunate that I arrived just before Melly Faith Lefavre Byron started her set. Her first song was "Anyone" from Justin Beiber, followed by one of my FAvorites, "In case you didn't know" from Brett Young. This song is a great reminder to make sure people know how you feel (as lesson I learned hard in January :( ). Melly followed it with a great version of "When You Say Nothing At All" by Allison Krause and then picked uo the pace with a chair dancing version of "Dear Future Husband" from Meghan Trainor. This is one the songs, no matter who sings it, I can just focus entirely on the music and ignore the lyrics.

Slowing back down, she shared "I Need You" from LeAnn Rimes, then Little Mix's "Secret Love Song", "Gravity" from Sara Bareilles, and did a great job on my request, Avril Lavignee's "Complicated". Complicated is one of those amazing words. One of the things I like about SL is that things can (and in my opinion should) be very uncomplicated. We should all just strive to be honest and kind to each other and leave the "complications" at the Welcome Area (end soapbox) (for now).

As we rounded halfway and headed down the back Melly wowed us with "Love Me Like You Mean It" and "I Hate Love Songs" from Keslea Ballerini. I guess this younger generation just doesn't get that some people want to fill the world with silly love songs? Throwing in a few more country songs, "Look At Me" from Carrie Underwood, "Just a Kiss" from Lady Antebellum she brought our minds back to the Adirondacks in the summer with "Time of My Life". As an aside, if some late 20s dance instructor was sniffing around my teenage daughter, baby would be in the corner and that dude was be in the lake.

Melly signaled the end of this fun hour with Taylor Swift's "Mr. Perfectly."

I want to go back to my earlier comment about the Kultivate Gallery. I was fortunate to catch Melly's delightful show during an exhibit. The works of one particular SL Artist, Angel Heartsong, really caught my eye. I was delighted to be able to purchase a well done hummingbird for a friend. Angel does landscapes and works from either SL photography or AI generated subjects. If you're in the market for high quality art for your home or business, I would suggest reaching out to her.

Melly, vocalist, will bring you right down to that small home town feel. Singing to you all the favorite pop, soft rock, country. All your favorite covers for you ! This small town gal brings to sl many years of experience from years of rl performance, with awards on the way, and now sharing her vocal gift to us here in second life. You will understand why she is a favorite of many! A must hear! All the way from Oklahoma, Melly is ready to share her passion and love of music with you! Her musical influences include Carrie Underwood, Kelly Clarkson, Kelsea Ballerini, and so many more.

"I want nothing more than to spread the love and joy of music to as many as I can"


(You can see the hummingbird photo here, sorta)


bottom of page