top of page
Untitled design (1)_edited.jpg
DTS 1001.png
  • Writer's pictureRads

Lark Bowen @ Roissy Val d'Oise 19/04/2023

A couple of years ago (pre-Blog), I encountered a singer that always intrigued me. Unfortunately, I lost track of her schedule, so I was excited to land a venue recently and hear her finishing a set. We reconnected and I made a point to keep the time of her next show open. As it turned out, that show was in the Roissy Val d'Oise sim as a venue run by the incredible hostesses of Roissy. Roissy is a BDSM roleplay and teaching sim which has been around for ten years. They are a community providing a safe and encouraging environment for people to meet and explore their mutual kinks. They also have a strong musical life, with live performers and DJs. My association with Roissy over the years has been limited to mostly shows. I have had a number of friends over the years who have gone through the Roissy training program and speak highly of it. I know each of my experiences has been exceeding warm and comfortable as was this. While I landed in casual clothing, and no one said anything, I have become accustomed to attending Roissy event in formal wear so I made a quick change.

This artist I was here to hear is Lark Bowen. As I mentioned, I first heard Lark some years ago, and was delighted to discover she was still singing in SL. She kicked her power show off with Def Leopard's "Pour Some Sugar On Me" and slid in to Meghan Trainor's "Lips Are Movin'" and then Demi Lovato's "Sorry Not Sorry". Her tour de' force covering powerful female songs continued with Rihanna and "We Found Love" followed "The Rose" from Bette Midler. I've always wondered about this song.. Well, what I think about it at least. What love is a rose? Does that mean it's temporary, and doomed to die? Does it mean that it will bloom as long as its connected to it roots? Or does it mean that its just a bunch of pricks waiting to poke you? (The DTS survey branch MIGHT be opening soon).

Lark's next song was the first of 4 show tunes in her set. This "Why Don't You Do Right" from Who Framed Roger Rabbit. By the end of this tune the temperature at the is outside venue had risen a few degrees and I noticed a few adjustments being made. The next aural (means 'ear' you perverts) treat was from The Cardigans and their song "Love Fool". She followed it up with Christina Peri and "A Thousand Years". Then we enjoyed two more show tunes, "I Dreamed A Dream" from Les Mis and the classic "Send In The Clowns". As a member of the (un)professional media, I don't often request songs when I'm blogging. Tonight I was in an atypical mood and wanted to hear 4 Non Blondes' "What's Up".

The sprint of end of this hour start with The Divinyls summary of many SL relationships, "I Touch Myself", then Ariana Grande's "Love Me Harder" and Shawn Mendes' "Stitches" before a soul tugging "Unchained Melody" from the movie Ghost.

Lark doesn't perform as much as she used to, so I suggest you keep an ear open for a chance to catch and enjoyable show, and if it happens to be at Roissy Val d'Oise, I can assure you it will be warm and welcoming addition to your SecondLife

Lark started singing at a very young age with her first recording at age 3... by her Granny. She got her first standing ovation at her first stage (Stairway Landing) performance at age 4 performing her own rendition of the opening song for the Hit Broadway Musical, "The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas." This was only the start!

Lark's passion and talent blossomed with over 10 years of Vocal Training and Study through private lessons and too many classes which led to a Degree in Vocal Performance with concentrations in Classical Music, Opera, Broadway and some other boring but hard to sing stuff. (And to be honest, she probably doesn't remember much from the Music Theory or Music History courses). Many hours of boring homework led to listening to the radio which led to a love of popular music in all genres.

During those many years of study, she accomplished many things. Aside from actually graduating (which was a miracle in itself), she was able to lend her voice to a number of choirs and musical ensembles, musicals, solo concert recitals, and her favorite, a cameo on a Disney Radio Christmas Production of A Christmas Carrol. Her crowning glory was her opportunity to rehearse with "America's Choir." She left the world of music behind upon graduation till many years later when she discovered Second Life. Through the help and support of Amazing Friends and Family, she found her way to her true love, Performing. Lark might be performing in her pajamas with her bun buns hoping around her real life feet, but she keeps her Second Life fans wanting more of her beautiful and charismatic personality with every performance doing what she loves the most!



bottom of page