top of page
Untitled design (1)_edited.jpg
DTS 1001.png
  • Writer's pictureRads

Eva Fae @ Rockin' Roost 10/02/2023

The SL Music world is a wonderfully dynamic environment. The Venn diagram of who knows who and who enjoys who tends to look more like Gordian's Knot than an elementary school diagram to explain sets. It bleeds into other Grids and First Life (have you heard about the SL Jam's? If not, ask me in world!). I've met quite a few people in this incredible world over my career as fan, blogger and stalker (thank goodness there are no restraining orders in SL). If I had a L$ for every time I've found a "new" singer, only to learn they had been in SL singing for years, I'd have enough to buy a new Hoorenbeek outfit (or 2). So, when I landed at Rockin' Roost to catch a "new" singer I wasn't sure what to expect. Rockin' Roost is one of my favorite venues. LoneWolf and Raven make every visit enjoyable, and I've caught some of my favorites here over the years. The country atmosphere almost (but not quite) requires boots and hats. The venue isn't huge, adding to its charm. When you're on one of the dance pads (couples dance pads are in the back row and several couples dance stands are behind the dance pads) the closeness of the stage and other guests really gives me an experience of being there.

Tonight, I was at Rockin' Roost to hear a "new" singer, Eva Fae. Now, by "new" I don't mean "new to me, but all you smart people have been fans for years". I mean this was her 3rd show and I got to be the second person added to her group! There were so many amazing things about this performance, not the least of which was the crystal clear vocals. One of surprising (and frankly great) thing was the set list. Eva mostly sang pairs of songs from the artists she covered. She started Melissa Etheridge and "I'm The Only One" then "Angels Would Fall". She followed Melissa with one of 2 single songs, "Hand In My Pocket" by Alanis Morrisette. I can assure you of two things. MOST of the hands were clapping during this stellar song AND my hand was, perhaps, near my pocket. Did I mention Eva is a southerner, with one of those Steel Magnolia accents? The next pair were "With and Without (Dad)", Nancy Sinatra's empowerment hit, "These Boots Are Made For Walkin'" and then one with her Dad (yes, Frank, THAT Frank) "Something Stupid".

Jumping forward a few decades Eva treated our ears to "A Song You Know and One You Don't" from Nora Jones. The first was, of course, "I Don't Know Why" followed by "Above Ground". Her next theme was "Then And Now" with Madonna's 1986 song "Jimmy, Jimmy" and then her newer one "You'll See". The next artist she chose to highlight was the ever delightful Dido with "White Flag" and another deep song "No Love". For me the clinching refrain in this perfectly delivered lyrical treat is "No love without freedom, no freedom without love." Powerful.

The last pair of the night were Dolly Parton's (see what I did there?) "The Bargain Store" and "Little Sparrow". You might be noticing that many of the songs Eva chose from her extensive song list aren't the biggest hits of the respective artists. It was such a treat to hear new songs, thoughtfully selected for our enjoyment and the expansion of our musical horizons. She closed the amazing hour with "Smile" from Nat King Cole. I can assure you the number of smiles to be found at Rockin' Roost on this special night were at least the number of people lucky enough to enjoy this fantastic new singer together.

Eva is still working out things like promoting herself (um…. sing Eva, the crowds will come). You find her group at "Eva Fae's Fans & Fam" If you want to hear a great new voice and some fantastic songs which not everyone plays, track Eva down!

Eva Fae started singing before she was old enough to talk. At 10 months old she was turning heads at the grocery store, humming "Jingle Bells" from start to finish while being wheeled around in the grocery cart. Don't let the accent fool you, this Southern Belle loves every kind of music in the world. Her philosophy is, "Music is proof that we have a soul," so she has sung everything from Opera to Contemporary music of all genres. She plays a number of different instruments including piano, violin, cello, flute, clarinet, French horn, and djembe drum, but her heart belongs to her guitar because it was the first thing, she learned to play at 6 years old. Eva Fae is currently recording her first full album which will be titled, "Finding Home". This collection of original works reflects her eclectic tastes. Her songs are inspired by her colorful life, and also by the stories that people have shared with her over the years. More details will be released this spring.





bottom of page