top of page
Untitled design (1)_edited.jpg
DTS 1001.png
  • Writer's pictureHarlow Davi

Clairede Dirval @ The Fern Jazz and Blues Lounge 20/04/2023

Updated: May 13, 2023

It's 7am on a Friday morning in Australia and I have just rolled out of bed on a long awaited day off. I put the kettle on to make a cup of tea and while waiting for it to boil I check my phone for messages received while I have slept. Amongst them I see one that has just recently come in saying that if I am awake I need to get into SL as Clairede Dirval was about to take to the stage at The Fern Jazz and Blues Lounge. That's all the encouragement I needed to jump online and head on over.


I have previously said of The Fern that I find it to be club rich in memories and décor of times long ago. With pictures of jazz greats adorning the walls as well as pictures of performers who play at the club it makes for an eclectic mesh of old meets new that works to make The Fern the charming venue that it is.


I arrived just in time to hear Clairede Dirval perform "Flowers" by Miley Cyrus, and while I have to admit I am not a fan of Miley's almost passive aggressive post break up songs (and she has had a few), I am a fan of the way Claire sang this one, loud and proud as a strong woman who can survive and strive without a man to make her happy.


Claire told me that she thought her version of Whatever Gets You Through The Night, a song written by the late, great John Lennon, featuring Elton John on backing vocals was missing "something", but as it was only the second time she had tried it she will keep morphing it and adding to it as its a keeper. I am no expert but I thoroughly enjoyed it and and glad that it's a keeper.


The vibe then change slightly with two classic songs that are well known by many, The Chain and Landslide by Fleetwood Mac, songs that I am sure most of us love. Rag N Bone Man's 'Only Human" was up next, followed by the beautiful "To Love Somebody" by The Bee Gees.


Just when I thought that my morning couldn't get much better Claire launched into gritty renditions of "Going To California" by Led Zepplin and "River" by Bishop Briggs. I got to tell you that Claire's voice packs such a punch that at times I found myself knocked down, landed flat on my ass and just when I picked myself up and dust myself off, Claire came back with such force that she knocked me straight back onto my ass again...and I loved it.

All throughout her set Claire regaled us with tales of her friends, her voice and her cats that were trying to take over and by her laughter you could tell that she was having an absolute ball, which in turn made her audience do the same.


In closing I just want to say music has been a huge part of my life for as long as I can remember, so I don't say this lightly when I say that Clairede Dirval has the ability to consume you for the duration of each song. This unique and vocally gifted lady invites you deep into her presence where you feel that you can experience what its truly like to be moved by the music


Thank You for the music Clairede Dirval. you are one seriously talented lady.




bottom of page