top of page
Untitled design (1)_edited.jpg
DTS 1001.png
  • Writer's pictureHarlow Davi

Anderson Parkes @ The Night Owl 9/05/2023

It's a day off for me in Australia, and on an Tuesday no less. Not a Saturday or a Sunday like most people have but a Tuesday where I have no set plans and can laze around the house in my favourite oversize old tshirt that belongs to my daughter and a pair of comfy leggings. Romantic no, comfortable yes, and when I only have one day off before working again comfort is the way I chose to be. Settling into SL with a cup of tea I peruse the live music events and see that a new friend of mine, Anderson Parkes is playing at The Night Owl. Checking the time I note that it's only 15 minutes until Anderson plays so I quickly change clothes, remembering shoes, which for me is a major feat (groans at my pun) and head on over to The Night Owl.


Now, if you take a look at the calendar of Anderson Parkes you will find a musician that is in very high demand. The amount of venues that he plays at, multiple in one day is seriously impressive and as he has signed up to play at a concert in my vineyard in a few weeks time and I have never heard him, I decided that it would be a good idea to jump on over the The Night Owl to see if that demand was justified....keep reading to find out if I thought that it was.


The Night Owl is a relaxed venue with a large sparkling cobblestone dance floor that matches perfectly with the beach and tropical surrounds. Its my kind of venue, one that had me thinking I would be totally at home in shorts, a tank and bare feet as I grabbed a beer from the bar and settled in comfortably for an afternoon of sun and music.


Anderson took to the stage, thanking the performer before him (Rogue Galaxy, check her out...amazing), while also greeting those of us that came out to see him. As he started out with Gotye "Somebody that I used to know" I was thinking "damn I haven't heard this in ages", an unusual song to start out with, but one that suited his voice perfectly, and haven't we all had that somebody that we used to think we knew only to find out that we really didn't..... I know that I have.


Iggy Pop "Candy" was another blast from the past, one that had me quickly grabbing a songlist to see what other "forgotten or not heard for a long time" songs might be on there. I was smiling as I made a mental note of the diverse range in that list...what did I want to request....Laughing when Anderson broke into "Mr Jones" by Counting Crows as that song has a personal meaning to me in my 1st life, and was one that I was going to request. Oh well back to the list to see what else I could request. I found myself enjoying this set so much and couldn't wait to see what else Anderson would bring to the table.


I ended up requesting "Whiskey In The Jar," originally a traditional Irish folk song and one that has been covered by many including Thin Lizzy and Metallica. I must say that I have always preferred Metallica's version to Thin Lizzy's and as Anderson gave his own take on it, I was glad that it was the song I chose to request as It was a version that I could listen to many times again


The blast from the past continued with The Beatles "Revolution and Come Together". It was not even 9am in Australia and thanks to Anderson, my morning was so full of memories, the kind of memories that only music can bring. I am sure you all know what I mean, the songs that take you to places and times you had maybe forgotten or not though of for a while. Songs you made out to, cried to, danced to "those" song... the remembering where you were and what you were doing while "that" song was playing. That's what Anderson was giving me and as he sang "Listen To The Music" I thought just how appropriate it was as I was taking my own trip down memory lane as I listened to "his" music.


There is one song though that had me groaning and going NOOOOOO, not because I don't like it but as I knew that it was going to be stuck in my head all day, not something that I wanted at 9am. That song was none other than the cheating song, "The Pina Colada Song". Two people stuck in a rut advertising for new lovers in a newspaper only to find that they are each others match. Here let me get it stuck for you..and you are welcome. Thanks Anderson, it WAS stuck in my head all day.


"If you like piña coladas

And gettin' caught in the rain

If you're not into yoga

If you have half a brain

If you like makin' love at midnight

In the dunes on the cape

Then I'm the love that you've looked for

Write to me and escape"


Dammit now its got to me again....sighs.


"You Can Do Magic" by America had me singing out loud all the while thinking I must be getting old to remember these songs from long ago. Anderson finished up with the Kenny Loggins classic "Footloose". Now who doesn't chair dance and sing out loud to that...and if you don't you need to reassess your fun factor.


As I said my goodbyes and Tp'd out I was thinking that it was such a perfect way to start my one day off. My face and my heart were smiling and for me that's what music is about. The hour was one of the best that I have spent at live music in SL in quite a while. Thank you Anderson, you are a breath of fresh air in the SL music world.




bottom of page