top of page
Untitled design (1)_edited.jpg
DTS 1001.png
  • Writer's pictureRads

A Valentine's Special

In honor of Valentines Day, I wanted to share something I've been working on for some time now. My regular reader(s) know(s) music is a huge part of my SL. Songs have been woven into the fabric of both my lives. Like many of you, songs narrate the important parts of our stories, and fix our memories on meaningful moments filled with all kinds of emotions.

In reflecting on the nearly bottomless ocean of phenomenal lyrics, I am making an attempt, perhaps poorly, to share a few songs that I think encapsulate the SL experience for most of us, particularly on Valentines Day.

I hope you enjoy matching up songs on this list to your SL as much as I have.


Missing Persons, "Destination Unknown" - for all those random teleports requests.


Bo Burnham, "(If You Want Love) Lower Your Expectations" - no really, do (and you MUST hear Evee sing this at least one in your SL)


Devinyls, "I Touch Myself" - you know who you are.


Atlanta Rhythm Section, "Imaginary Lover" - and possibly of the gender they portray in SL.


Joe Walsh, "Living A Life of Illusion" - or perhaps, more accurately, delusion.


Madonna, "Material Girl" - shoes much?


Men At Work - "Who Can It Be Now* - another ALT reference.


Billy Joel, "The Mask" - which we all use in SL (ask me sometime about my "Come As You Are" party)


Phil Collins, "Forever Young" - with a few rare exceptions (hats off to Wes West and LoneWolf55 among a select few)


Peter McCann, "Do you Want to Make Love" - what most women dread getting in a random IM (but some don't)


The Rolling Stones, " I'm So Hot for Her" - this title (and its response) are what most men tell their bffs at an Agatha Knowles show.

You might have noticed a pop heavy list, but SL is for country folks too

Toby Keith - "I Love This Bar" - yeah, Wet Willies I'm talking about you.


Johnny Lee - "Looking For Love In All The Wrong Places" - tell me you haven't been caught looking in a wrong place a time or two (dozen)

If you decide to play this set list in show soon, please let me know!

And remember if you can't be with the one you love, see if one of your ALTS can.

Happy Valentine's Day!!!


bottom of page