top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Wes West @ Alurel 23/04/21

When I first heard Wes West play at Mystic Muse a few months ago I fell in love with his cover versions of a few of The Eagle songs and spontaneously proposed. Lucky for us both he didn’t take me seriously and we have since gone on to become very close friends who have bonded over a mutual love of words and music. When he told me he was playing tonight at a new venue for him, Alurel, I decided to go along as a friend and offer my support and then when he told me that there was a fairy dance circle I knew what I needed to do. I am a girl who loves playing dress ups (blushes at some of the dress ups but that's another story altogether) so I wasted no time shopping for a fairy costume .....after all we all need a little Tinkerbell in our lives….dont we?


Landing at Alurel I was greeted warmly by owner Skyspinner Soulstar and as I rezzed I found myself smiling at the venue. I didn’t feel out of place in my fairy costume, in fact I felt quite at home dancing barefoot on the grass amongst the toadstools, gnomes and rabbits, It was like magic. And there amongst it all was Wes, on stage playing an all-acoustic set. Now you may call me biased but this man has a voice that is like dunking a marshmallow into hot chocolate…it just melts and from the first taste you want more.


Wes sang so many songs that touched my heart for reasons that only music can do, songs like If Were A Carpenter, Every Breath You Take, Building A Better Boat but it was his version of ABBA's I have a dream, changed from I believe in angels, to I believe in fairies (with wings) , The Eagles, Take it Easy and that heartbreakingly beautiful song Vincent by Don McLean that had this fairy flying.


Wes West you are simply amazing.......ok more roses needed now




bottom of page