top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Virgil Flowers @ Solar Winds 10/09/21

I just want to take a moment to share a memory that came to me while I was at Virgil's set today, one that had me going back to the very beginning of my blogging days.


It was February 10 and Michael and I hadn't had Toggle For Music up and running for very long, about a month, so I was still very new to blogging when I went to a venue (that I dont think is here anymore) to hear Virgil for the first time.


I grabbed his songlist and saw that he played one of my all time faves - She Talks To Angels by The Black Crowes so I requested it. Virgil said that he unfortunately couldn't play it as it was one he played acoustically and his acoustic guitar wasn't tuned so he played Hard To Handle instead.


A few days later Michael TP'd me to Blues Cove where Virgil was just about to start and as he went around the room greeting everyone he asked if I was the Harlow that had asked for She Talks To Angels. When I said that it was indeed me, he went on to say that he had been thinking about my request and how he couldn't play it that day but how as an artist he should be able to play any request on his songlist at any time. That morning he played She Talks To Angels for me. It is something that I have never forgotten.


I hadn't planned to blog Virgil today as he has been blogged sooooooo many times by other people that what else is there to say, but that memory prompted me to get out my notebook and write again.


Today's set at Solar Winds started out with Pour Some Sugar On Me...and pour it he did and even though I don't speak the language of a guitarist, I am fluent enough to understand the raw power and emotions that the notes being picked, and the sounds being amplified can make one feel and let me tell you, Virgil had me feeling damn fine. As he continued on with, With or Without You, Dont Fear The Reaper, Bad Things (that song is just so damn sexy it makes me go mmmmmm) and Go Ahead And Lie To Me Virgil played that guitar like a man possessed.......... or a man pissed off. Virgil which one was it?


As I perused his song list, noting that he now has acoustic written next to some songs, Virgil went on to play Sympathy For The Devil and Suspicious Minds by the king himself. I finally requested Let Her Cry, that beautiful song by Hootie and The Blowfish which had Virgil commenting that he wasnt scared to sing it, I may beg to differ there as he sure did talk about tuning his guitar a lot before he got around to playing it LOL. Finishing off his set with Layla, my smile was wide as not only am I a huge Clapton fan but Noma Falta, the Queen of Blues was in the house and Virgil was staying on stage for a dual stream. Stay tuned for my next blog.


Virgil Flowers you certainly rocked my world.



bottom of page