top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Urban Harvy @ Rockin Robin 04/09/21

Updated: Sep 7, 2021


Where does the weekend go? You work all week just to get to Friday afternoon knock off and then all of a sudden in the blink of an eye it's Sunday and you find that you are fast looking down the barrel at Monday all over again. Being an Aussie my Sunday comes around earlier than most so as I was contemplating the last day of my weekend and wondering what to do to start my day when I saw a notice that Urban Harvy was playing at Rockin Robin. I had never heard Urban Harvy before but I have been to Rockin Robin many times. Its a great outdoor venue with a large stage and even larger dance area that hosts a lineup of awesome artists, so I decided to head on over and check out the goings on.


Jumping on a dance pad I was just settling in when I heard a voice so warm and gentle singing the most beautiful song about the love between a mother and son, and as a mother of three adult boys I was moved to tears by the words of the story that Urban Harvy was telling me. A song that I have since learned is "The Baby" by Blake Shelton, and one that I have listened to several times since, and am still moved to tears.


As Urban Harvy continued on with Josh Turners "Why Don't We Just Dance:, The Beatles "In my Life and Jimmy Buffets " Margaritaville" , I grabbed a copy of his song list and found that while not extensive as some that I have seen it covers a great range, and as Urban Harvy told me, he fell in love with his song list and is very home when he performs them. .......Isnt that what music is all about. I finally requested "The Thunder Rolls" by Garth Brooks, the tale of a woman waiting for her man to come home as a storm raged overhead, not knowing where he was...until she smelled the perfume on him.


"A Thousand Miles From Nowhere" by Dwight Yokam had Urban Harvy telling the audience that he goes on a journey when he sings as so many songs resonate with his life story, and isn't that something that we can all relate to? Music has the ability to make us feel even when we think we dont want to feel a a thing, remember when we dont want to and laugh when we remember forgotten memories from long ago.


Each song that he sang, Urban Harvy made it uniquely his own and his rendition of Elvis' "Cant help falling in love with you had me closing my eyes and swaying in my chair, wishing that my friend Sean was online to slow dance with as it was just a goosebump kind of moment where the hairs on your arms stand on end and you get tingles up and down your spine.

Just when I thought that I had heard the best he finished off with Elton John's "Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word" done Dianna Krall's way and I was just blown away. It was in a word STUNNING.


As he wrapped up by saying that compliments to him were worth their weight in gold and far more than a paycheck I was so glad that I had the pleasure of spending a lazy Sunday morning with a man with an incredible voice. Urban Harvy, Thank You


bottom of page