top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg
  • Writer's pictureNeo

Trow (trowzer.boa) Sings Live @ Nat's Jazz Club at Detroit City 19/7/2021

Trishia: Well folks, have you ever had one of those days where you just don’t want to hear one more person talking? The boss is yelling, dog is barking, kids are fighting, the relatives are nagging, or the neighbors are complaining? Well, hello, that day was one for Neo and I both! I just want to sip on that nice cold glass of wine and listen to some great music – and yes, no words, just some soothing music for the soul. So, what does SL music have to offer for a request such as mine? Let me look at events…Oh, there is that talented Sax player, Trow (trowzer.boa) playing at Nat’s Jazz Club at Detroit City.


Trishia: "Oh, Neo honey, I found the perfect place to relax…Get that suit and tie out, we’re headed to Nat’s…"


Neo: "That sounds like just what the doctor ordered! Let me get dressed."


Trishia: "Wow! you look soooo handsome Neo!"


Neo: "Thank you hon...I just need to get some time where we can recharge and forget the day.! Ummm Nat's? Isn't that the place that is owned and operated by Linda Sautereau? I remember it because it's one of the last great jazz venues in SL...I think it started in 1912?"


Trishia: "Yes, and I understand it's beautifully decorated! Nat's should really calm us down."


Neo: "Yes and getting to hear Trowswer Boa at the same time..now that's what I call a great duo...."


(Neo writing) As I walked into Nat's, I was conscious of a time when the ambiance meant more than just decor. It was 1912 all over again with it's classic style. I could feel myself settling down and taking some time to breath.


About that time Trowser Boa took the stage, and after a few greetings, he began his decent into a place you have to hear it to believe it. Having been a saxophonist and composer for 10 years, he knows full well the kind of music that "soothes the soul". Now, I'm not going to snow you and tell you I knew all the songs he played. Some of them were original compositions and some were the old school classic Swing and Jazz. What I will tell you is Trow has a way of making you forget your troubles and begin to take part in the artistic warm and relaxed sounds that permeate the place. I began to relax and let the pristine sounds go deep and could feel myself letting go of the day and just listening to his fluent sounds. His version of "At Last" by Etta James made me think of that voice, smooth as butter. Then there was "You are the Sunshine of my life" a Steve Wonder tune. The songs kept coming, and with the help of his assistant,, I can share a few (Emily, What You Wont Do For Love, St Thomas, Greenback Dollar Bill). Dancing and swaying with Trish to this comforting music, I could feel myself being Immersed, and the troubles of the day felt long ago and far away.


Trow has an extensive list of achievements as he continues to perform regularly with a variety of top talents on the East Coast US, and he leads a group called "The Acoustic Groove Project". His music spans many genres, but he is most at home with any improvisational music. It shows as he gets lost in the sounds he creates.


If you haven't had a chance to hear some of the best jazz in SL, I'd urge you to seek him out and give a listen. This could be one of the best hours you've ever spent.





bottom of page