top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Trav McCullough @ The Blue Nile 11/7/21

My Mom use to say on July 5th, “Well summer is over, July 4th is gone!!” I’d say “huh, where did you get that idea?” She would say, “Well, all the stores are marking down summer items and putting out school supplies!” Well people! - It’s July 11 and summer is sooo not over, it’s just begun!! It’s 8P in SL, but in my real world it’s late - 11P, and I can still hear neighbors laughing, drinking and making s’mores. The cicadas are starting to sing too, or is that the tinnitus in my ears?? LOL So, I may as well check out the summer night life in SL and see what’s happening. Oh wow! I see Trav McCullough singing at Blue Nile – (the beach portion). Trav McCullough – I recall Trav McCullough from my early years in Second Life when I was an assistant to one of his singer friends. A romantic, tender, emotional singing voice is how I remember Trav’s style of singing, and he made the girls fall in love with whomever they were dancing with at the moment because of his warmhearted voice and songs.


Donning his ponytail, and his summer tan and swim shorts, Trav made his way to the stage. Blue Nile is an awesome place to visit. Aristippus.larsson shares the ownership of Blue Nile with Melinda Curry. The beach portion is nicely decorated with campfires, tiki torches, beach chairs and blankets and so much more. Aristippus boasts of Melinda being the decorator, and yes, that girl can beautifully decorate! Aris tells me he uses the beach portion of the venue in the summer, but also has a beautiful ballroom for later in the seasons. I took a few minutes to look at the ballroom; it’s gorgeous and can’t wait to put a gown on, a tux on Neo and drag his butt there.

Trav started his set with “I’ll be Your Be Your Baby Tonight” by Toby Dylan followed with “My Prayer” by The Platters. Then he sang a favorite of mine by Ed Sheeran – “Perfect”. “I found a love for meee” so begins the song’s lyrics – how many of you out there have found that perfect love for you? I know I have, and it took ten years to find Neo. 😊 Keep looking and wait for that special person; don’t settle, YOU are more valuable than you realize. Trav sang with such tenderness with many more tunes: “If I should Fall Behind” by Bruce Springsteen,” I Will Love You” by Fisher, “Wild Horses” by the Rolling Stones, “Hello” by Lionel Richie, “You Shouldn’t Kiss Me Like This” by Toby Keith, “Lay Down Sally” by Eric Clapton, “September Morn” by Neil Diamond, and “Your Kind of Love” by Ronnie Dunn.


Much to my surprise, Trav has a tune on his extensive song list that no other artist that I know of has on theirs. So naturally I had to request it. And that song being “Half A World Away” by Jan Werner Danielsen from the famous movie “Secret Garden”!! I would love to find an artist who sings only show tunes for an entire set (hint hint Trav). Trav made me so incredibly happy with just this one show song, and I was wishing Neo was with me so we could enjoy one of our favs together.


Trav’s final song was “Don’t Let the Old Man In” by Toby Keith. Trav did such great justice to this song, which was inspired by Clint Eastwood. Clint told Toby Keith that he was starting to work on a new movie called The Mule. Toby asked Clint, who was 88 at that time, how he had so much energy at that age when so many want to just sit and reflect. Clint said, “I just get up every morning and go out. And I don’t let the old man in.” So as the lyrics read, and as Trav sang with that effortlessly serene voice, “Try to love on your wife and stay close to your friends. Toast each sundown with wine, don’t let the old man in.” Take some time out of your evening and take that special someone to listen to Trav. You will be delighted!! Thanks, Trav for an incredible night!!




bottom of page