top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Toxie Darkmatter @ Solar Winds 10/07/21

Before I start my blog on Toxie I just want to share something that has always stuck in my mind about the first time that I met her. It was back in January and Michael and I hadn’t had Toggle For Music for long, just a few weeks in fact. I was very new to blogging, had only written maybe a dozen, if that and not even really aware that people at that stage knew what I did or who I was/am. I remember that I was at Sapphire Beach Club to do a blog on Arra when Toxie gave a shout out that Harlow Davi was in the house, and then went on to mention my writing and the new blog that was TFM. I was sooooooooo shocked and excited that someone had recognised what we were doing that I left an offline for Michael copying Toxie’s words..lol I still have it and his response to my excitement saved in my chat history months later. This act of kindness has always stayed with me. So thank you Toxie for being the first to acknowledge my words and for being one of the reasons that I continue on with Droppin The Stream to strive to do what I do in here.


SL is full of talented artists as I have found out from my quest to bring attention to the live music scene in here, but there are some in my mind that stand out from the crowd and take it to a whole new level. Toxie Darkmatter is one of those performers. With that in mind, my good friend Spike, owner of the Aussie venues The Woolshed and Ocean Dreams Jazz and Blue Club had just finished up at Kendall Jigsaw’s set and were looking for someone else to listen to, so we decided to head on over to Solar Winds. Now, I haven’t been to Solar Winds in such a long time, and the same goes for me catching a Toxie show, one of the downfalls of being a busy blogger, so I was excited and as we landed and my smile was wide for Toxie has the sweetest giggle. It’s like a bubble of happiness that pops over top of you showers you in joy…and her voice when she sings…………….my oh my it takes you to a whole other stratosphere.


Starting off with Lynard Skynards Simple man Toxie see the tone for what was a first half of stripped back music Toxie style. She continued on with Bed Of Roses and Sweet Child Of Mine but it was Whiter Shade Of Pale that had my eyes going damp. This lady has a voice that is just so beautiful and to hear her sing that classic in the way that she did was truly memorable. In The Arm of An Angel and The Shallows followed, and let me tell you Toxie needs no Bradley Cooper to accompany her…although I was trying hard to get Jimmy T on board.


Toxie then mixed it up with Pretty Woman and Blondie’s Rapture before finishing with The Violent Femmes Blister In The Sun.


A great hour with a lovely lady, who also took the time out to give a shout out to Droppin The Stream.


Toxie you are simply the best.





bottom of page