top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Somewhereintime Jupiter @ Stella Polaris 26/11/21

There almost as many venues in SL as there are talentless music bloggers. I recently landed at a very interesting one. The LM deposited me at some glass doors. I went inside and followed the sounds up a gangplank into a reasonable facsimile of a typical cruiser operating between Finland and Sweden. I was lucky, the venue owner, of the Stella Polaris, Alva ƤĄŞŞÎFLØRĄ-Snowfield (Alva Swansen), showed up during the show I was there to blog. Alva shared with me that Friday is there big show day, with 3 or 4 live singers. As it turns out, my timing was impeccable. December 6th is Finland's Independence Day, so the crowd was getting festive ahead of time. I need to get back here and what Finnish independence is all about! You should join me!


The show I'd come to see was Somewhereintime Jupiter. As regular readers of my blog might note, it's not common for me to blog male singers. It appears my, ahem, fixation, on female singers is causing my to miss great performances. Certainly today's show was a good indicator of that. Somewhere opened up with a blues tune "Brick". As I noted in a previous blog, my blues education is just beginning. I did learn from one person in the audience that Somewhere's voice is accurately described as "bluesy", "smokey" and "on key". The next song was a great rendition of Johnny Winter's "Mojo Boogie", and judging from the swooning I observed first hand, Somewhere definitely had his mojo rising.


I was settling in for an hour of blues education when he shared the Jason Aldean tribute to farmers "She Thinks My Tractor's Sexy", followed by Matt Minglewood's "Caledonia". I was intrigued by this song, because Caledonia is one of the ancient names of Scotland and the source of the Caledon sims in SL, an old favorite haunt. As it turns out, this blues song has nothing at all to do with Highlands of any kind. Not content with demonstrating a mastery of blues and country, Somewhere launched in to hip moving rendition of "Moon River" worthy of the Rat Pack, followed flawlessly by BB King's "The Thrill Is Gone".


Harkening back to one of the great movie bands of all time he did a screaming good version of "Sweet Home Chicago" that even the Nun would have danced to. The Allman Brother's made an appearance in one of the most delightfully eclectic set lists I've heard in a while with "Whipping Post". As if the night wasn't electric enough, Somewhere raised the voltage with AC/DCs "You Shook Me All Night Long" (she told me to….) and then pivoted perfectly into Steve Winwood's "Roll With It".


In deference to Christmas' illegal and immoral occupation of November, Somewhere sang a moving (even to this grinch) version of "Do You Hear What I Hear?" and The King's (Elvis Presley for you young 'uns) "Blue Christmas". Somewhere docked this amazing hour aboard the cruise liner with Aretha's Franklin's "Chain of Fools", ending a thoroughly delightful trip across the Pohjanlahti.


Somewhereintime is here to Celebrate Life through his pure joy of singing! His melodic voice will touch your heart, expressing words through song like no other. SJ sings Ballads, Pop, R/B, Melodic Jazz, Blues, and Country. Actually, he grew up singing the blues early in his life and it helped him develop his own style to sing other types of music. He loves to sing ballads and love songs, but he can also pump it up and get you dancing too. He is also a vocalist in RL for many years and records a great deal of music. Somewhere is a powerful and romantic vocalist with beautiful tone that will leave you breathless and wanting more. You will feel him forever in your heart and soul.


"SL is for relaxing and having fun and so I try to make it a pleasant experience for everyone" !


Editors Note : It seems the DTS photographer assigned to this event forgot to turn the red light on and the film was ruined. This is a promotional picture of SomewhereInTime. We apologize for not upholding our journalistic standards and the appropriate punishments are forthcoming - HD




bottom of page