top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Shaye Dezno-Jonstone @ Freedom Rock 4 - The Wild West 20/05/22

Updated: May 30, 2022

I am at a county fair, the smells and sounds assaulting my senses, hotdogs, freshly cooked donuts, livestock, the noise from the brightly lit rides, the half terrified and half excited screams from adults and children alike on those rides, stall holders shouting out as I walk past encouraging me to try and win a prize. They all meld into one and as day turns to night and an enchanting evening approaches I hear a voice somewhere in the distance singing, beckoning me to come closer.


My dogs bark, waking me from my reverie and I find myself not at a county fair but at Camping For A Cure's. Freedom Rock 4 - The Wild West, where for 10 days live performers and DJ's will give their time to help raise money for The American Cancer Society..


The sun is beating down on me as i walk on the weathered ground, past the raffles and vendors to the concert area. where before me on stage is Shaye Dezno-Jonstone, and as I listen I realise that this is the voice from my dream. I am totally enchanted, intoxicated by her voice that is as sweet as the cotton candy you find at the fair.


From Elle Kings "Baby Outlaw", Ashley McBrydes "Martha Divine" Chris Stapleton's "Tennessee Whiskey and You Should Probably Leave", Amanda Marshalls "Believe in You and Dark Horse", Carrie Underwoods "Two Black Cadillacs" and Brothers Osborne "All Night" Shaye made sure my cowboy boots got a work out as I kicked up the red dirt and boot scooted my way through her set. The country songs fitting the Wild West theme perfectly. Shaye a cancer survivor herself finished up with "Thankful" by Beth Hart a song that she said has deep personal meaning for her. It was truly a beautiful song to close out the hour.


Shaye Dezno-Jonstone you have a fan in me.




bottom of page