top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Shady Singer at Colour of Whispers 23/08/21

Standing on my new deck , sipping on a glass of red wine I was idly watching the dolphins play and the horses roam, thinking that life really doesn't get much better than this. That was until I saw a group notice pop up on my screen that Shady Singer was playing at C.O.W (Colour Of Whispers). Immediately the name Shady Singer" had me conjuring up thoughts of dark alleyways, furtive glances and money changing hands in a somewhat "shady" deal....yeah I know my imagination runs wild at times, but that imagination had me leaving the serenity of my land and heading over to the billabong to see what Shady was all about...and what a complex surprise I discovered.


When Shady started the night out with the jazz master, Michael Buble's Feeling Good and then Amy Winehouse's Valerie (one of my fave songs and in my opinions such a sad waste of talent gone too soon) done in a jazz style , I was thinking that if this was going to be the order of the night I was fine with that, but then Shady completely turned it around with If Tomorrow Never Comes, Ronan Keating, Let her Go by Passenger, Stay by Rhianna, and House of the Rising Sun by The Animals. I was more than suitably impressed as he has such distinct vocals and easily managed to shift and change his range to accommodate the songs that he was singing.


From jazz to ballads to raw and gritty Shady's voice covered it all and just when I thought that the surprises were over and my night couldn't get much better Shady had a request for Dance Monkey by Tone and I. Now I absolutely love that song, its fun and upbeat, its funky and a song that just makes you smile and sing along, but the way that Shady sang it in a sloooooow piano version, totally stripped back to the bares bones that has me a fan of his version forever more.


I was so caught up in the music that the hour was up way too soon and as I reluctantly headed out I thought that it was well worth leaving my deck, wine and sunset ocean view for..


Shady if singing were and Olympic sport, you would take out Gold, Silver and Bronze in all events.


Shady is a relative newcomer to performing in SL so keep an eye on events and get along and show him how much support live musicians have here in this virtual world.




bottom of page