top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Samuel Roberts at The Woolshed 10/11/21


Samuel Roberts has recently returned to SL after a years break and tonight he was playing at that lil Aussie venue that I love so much The Woolshed so I headed on over for what I thought would be an hour of hanging out with friends and listening to this fellow Aussie sing. In no way was I expecting to go on the journey that I did.


In my 12 years in SL I have heard a lot of amazing artists, written about a lot of them too but I have never been so touched by an artists voice like I have been by Sam's and I know that no matter what I write my words will not do him justice for he is someone truly special.


As I am writing this I am listening to Sam's soundcloud and I am in my own little bubble of acoustic bliss for not only does Sam have a voice that is so soft, mellow and easy to listen to, he is also a talented songwriter who through his words weaves a story and takes you on a journey with him to a place that is often deep and broken.


Sam started out with a song about alcoholism written by then 19 year old Zach Bryant., A Lovers Point Of View had me lost in memories of my late grandfather who battled many demons and lived his life a tormented man trying to drown his pain with alcohol.


Bon Jovi's, Its my life was up next and the way Sam did it, stripped back, just a man and his guitar was truly amazing as was Wake Me Up by Avicii and One Call Away by Charlie Puth. Beautiful versions of songs that Sam explained he needs to make his own instead of trying to sing them like the original artists do.


From "Faith, Love and Hope", a beautiful song about love and loss and it being ok just to be who you are to "Famous" a song about growing up as a poor kid from nowhere and wishing for something more Sam took me to a musical wonderland that had me closing my eyes and immersing myself in the words of these original songs, which Sam explained that being autistic he finds it easier to write songs than to learn them.


Highway Man and Land Downunder also featured in the hour but it was Sam's version of Tim McGraw's "Live Like You Were Dying" that took my breath away. It was simply divine and apart from the original this was the best version that I have ever heard.


Samuel Roberts your talent is out of this world, from your song writing to your voice you are a star.


Links to Sam's music below






bottom of page