top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Ronnie Mayes @ Cafe Musique 16/07

Cafe Musique was was clearly the place to be tonight for it was jam packed and pumping when I got there just in the nick of time to catch the last few songs from Rico Dee, a great artist here in SL. (see my blog on him)


Kicking off my stilettos and jumping on a dance pad in the sand I looked around I saw not only a lot of my friends but also a sea of familiar faces, all out for a good time. I was so busy chatting away as Rico sang his last song that I didn't see the next artist take to the stage, so when I looked up I was absolutely delighted to see Ronnie Mayes standing there in front of me. Delighted because Ronnie and I go way way back to the early days of SL when he was very new and I was only a few years in. We met at a rather questionable venue (laughing as I remember...shhh Ronnie dont tell) and went on to become good friends, with a little romance thrown in as well....lips are sealed, I dont kiss and tell........but I still do have a goat named Lionel in my inventory.. That's all I am saying.


At that time Ronnie was just starting out on his musical journey in SL and in RL was a long time member of a folk/rock band called Bucklers Reel, playing in venues in the English countryside. (youtube) As it happens in SL as in life we went our separate ways on our own paths and lost contact, Ronnie continuing to perform around the grid and me drifting along until I found my passion for blogging live music, and now ironically I get to blog him.


Ronnie is one of those performers who clearly loves what he does and its evident in the way that he interacts with his audience and just has fun. He often paused between songs to tell a tale or two about his life in both worlds and to just have a laugh, not taking himself too seriously. With an extensive songlist that includes his many originals to covers like Sweet Home Alabama, 500 Miles and Tom Petty's I Wont Back Down, Ronnie has a voice that makes each song uniquely his own and its heartwarming to see that after 10 years in this crazy world he is still continuing to bring his music to the people.


I for one am happy that we got to reconnect after so many years and even happier to let you all know that you should check Ronnie out around the grid




bottom of page