top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Ren (Renfoyle) @ Streaming Falls 26/9/2021

Any of you have those relatives that just love to argue over nothing? Well, I spent Saturday with some of that type, and the difficult part is, I have laryngitis and couldn’t join in with all the debating and mass confusion. So, there I was squeaking and croaking, and not a thing was coming from my mouth. Headache #54 formulated from the lack of being able to express myself, and so I decided to just sit quietly simmering and hoping Sunday would come quickly.


“Calgon take me away!” I’m sure all you boomers remember that saying from a TV commercial of a lady taking a bubble bath in Calgon and escaping her crappy reality. Well, come Sunday morning, I found my “Calgon” with the sweet SL live singer Ren (Renfoyle). Little did he realize that his calming voice, along with my pumpkin latte, was carrying me to a place of serenity. Ren was singing at this lovely venue owned by Edward Lowell known as Streaming Falls. Edward tells me that he pays the bills, but the managing and decorating he gives his props to Duskyrose Deir. The two of them have created such a friendly atmosphere and a beautifully decorated haven that is sure to please any person who visits.

Renfoyle is quite the talented artist…He sings covers but also has originals and happily shared a few with us. In fact, his opening number was an original entitled “Wait All Night”, and he played my favorite instrument, the piano, while he sang this beautiful song. Ren told me later that the song was about “how everything good is worth it with a little patience”. Ain’t that the truth? His other originals were “Sanctuary, This Time Around, and Coming Home.” Whether singing an original or singing a cover, Ren has a singing style that projects a story being told. His gentle soothing voice sang each word of the lyric with emotion and tenderness, and I was captivated with hearing the stories of many souls through song. Not only does Renfoyle play piano, but he also plays guitar! I’m so amazed with people who can play instruments and sing also. Impressive Ren!!


There appeared to be a connectivity with the audience as they bantered and danced to Ren’s additional songs: “Knockin On Heaven's Door & November Rain by Guns and Roses, “Just the Two of Us” by Bill Withers, “Wildhorses” by Rolling Stones, “You do Something to Me” by Paul Weller, “Creep” by Radiohead, “Never Tear Us Apart” by INXS, and “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long” by Otis Redding.


Renfoyle was happy to oblige one of my favorite Michael Jackson’s songs “Man in the Mirror”, and he made me equally as happy. “I’m starting with the man in the mirror, I’m asking him to change his ways. And no message could have been any clearer – If you want to make the world a better place, take a look at yourself, and then make a change.” Well, I think Ren has been looking in the mirror quite a while. He’s changing the world with that awesome voice and his meaningful songs. I know he changed MY world this Sunday morning into one of a peace, calm and tranquility. Thank you Renfoyle for a blissful hour. Loved the show!!


Ren’s Bio:


Having won the accolade "USH best acoustic artist" his blend of original and classic covers mixes genres with soulful vocals and live guitar. Renfoyle started as a session keyboard player and guitarist before joining his first band, where he began touring and recording. A natural evolution of songwriting and solo performances saw him take center stage as front man to a country rock band formed with musicians from some of the bands he'd had the pleasure of performing with over the years. They worked with a close team, including a US #1 chart topping producer, to record and release their debut single Coming Home. Renfoyle now strips the songs back with raw acoustic performances, regularly performing in clubs around London, the UK and on radio. He draws influence from many genres including artists such as Prince, Chris Stapleton, John Mayer, Roachford, Otis Redding through to The Rolling Stones. With solo performances at venues across the grid he now brings his heartfelt soul, blues and rock to SL.





bottom of page