top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Picker Apogee Sings Live @ Belle’s Coffee Shop 13/6/21

It’s a beautiful sunny Sunday morning – birds are chirping – the house is empty – total peace!! Ahhhh, time for some ME time. Ok where’s my specialty coffee? Hummm – that Neo, grrrr he drank the last drop of my favorite brand! Well, there’s only one thing to do – time to head on over to Belle's Coffee Shop. Waving at the beautiful co-owner Kelly Cross (kellycrosscd), I plop my backside on a stool and order my favorite coffee with hazelnut cream. Looking around I think how cozy this place is with the fluffy pillows on the big couches and chairs, a nice bar, and beautiful view. Kelly and her partner May O. Mingzi (mayomingzi) have really made a nice welcoming environment to relax in, do paperwork, read or listen to music.


Sipping my hot, eye opening, caffeinated beverage, I turn to see Picker Apogee take the stage. I’ve heard about Picker but have never had the pleasure of listening to one of his performances. And I must say, what a pleasure it was. Folk, rock, pop, and ragtime can best describe Picker’s style. He is remarkably diverse with the instruments he plays as well, boasting his expertise on guitar, violin and piano!

For all you Jimmy Buffett fans with the imagination that leans towards an island escape, Picker began his set with “Come Monday”. Jimmy would have been proud of Picker’s ability to sing his song plus put everyone in a relaxed lazy island mood. Next came Bob Dylan’s, “Don’t Think Twice”. Although I’m not too happy with the lyrics of this song (a man is leaving his girl and tells her not even to think twice about him leaving because she didn’t care about him anyway), Picker sang it in a way that still had me feeling very content and mellow.


Breaking out in his instrument only mode, Picker extracted from his case the coolest looking guitar and did his rendition of “Space Oddity” by David Bowe. Then putting down that guitar, he surprised us with a violin presentation of “Desperado” by the Eagles. Ahhhh the violin – such a sweet, sparkling, calming sound, and with that violin, Picker created a sentiment of love and loneliness. Picker also showcased his talents with his expertise on the piano, my favorite instrument. Tickling the ivories with “Running on Empty” by Jackson Browne and “The Piano Man” by Billy Joel had me fantasizing that I was up on stage in front of hundreds of people doing a concert. No there isn’t any Rum in my coffee! LOL


Just about then Neo arrived to hear “Old Man” by Neil Young and “Carolina in My Mind” by James Taylor. I could see his smile as bright as the Carolina Sunshine and eyes as big and brilliant as the Carolina Moonshine!! “Dance Lovely Lady?” “Of Course!” We slowly swayed to Picker’s final tune, “Something in the Way She Moves” by the Beatles, performed with Violin only. Laughingly I said to Neo, “Next time Neo you drink the last of my favorite coffee, you will be sleeping in the barn with the horses!” “No wait – I changed my mind…Thank you for drinking the last drop or I never would have had the chance to hear Picker!!

Check out Picker Apogee, he’s awesome!!


Bio:

Picker, Multi-instrumentalist musician (guitar, violin, piano, vocals) is a seasoned veteran in SL for many years bringing to his floors many years of performing experience and stories. You too will enjoy Picker's distinct picking style and sound of music entertaining you with his smooth vocals, dazzling guitar picking, soothing violin or tantalizing piano renditions. Mixing it up from cover tunes by the Beatles, Eagles, James Taylor, Jimmy Buffett, Neil Young to much more!

He seamlessly blends folk, pop, rock and ragtime with his distinct music style. With his endless repertoire, you will understand why he is appreciated by so many.




bottom of page