top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg
  • Writer's pictureNeo

Paul @ Cafe Musique - 25/10/21

What do you do when the forecast is for three days of rain, cold, and cloudy weather? Why, you come to Second Life of course and look for some music to soothe the savage beast! Ok, well maybe not a savage beast...more like a whining puppy, but I digress... Anyway, as time would have it, (it was 7 am SL time) I arrived here in SL and decided to see what was happening in the "live events" scene. I noticed that Cafe Musique, owned and amazingly operated by Laya Sugarplum, had a singer on deck at 9 am that I hadn't heard before.


After leaving to do some RL chores, I returned just as Paul (kindhartdman) was taking the stage. Right off the bat, I knew I was going to like this guy! I mean how can you not like a guy that starts his set with "Memphis Women & Fried Chicken" by T Graham Brown? Two of most guys favorite subjects, Women and Eating! LOL. Paul has the perfect voice for walking you down memory lane of the 70s, 80s, and 90s. His next two songs were a couple of great oldies, "Turn The Page and "Running Against The Wind" by Bob Seger. I had been scanning the song list and shot Paul an IM requesting "Don't Rock The JukeBox" a great one by Alan Jackson and his rendition was A+!


Paul wasted no time getting into gear with a little bit of "Jack Daniels" by Eric Church and chasing it down with "Lay Down Sally" by Clapton! He did make me laugh when he announced his next song and said "this one is kinda long folks but it's a great one if you need to hit the bathroom, it'll give ya time" LOL

With that, he made that ole guitar cry for mercy as he rocked out "Sultan of Swing" by Dire Straits! Paul took us back to times where music didn't have a lot of techno stuff to enhance it but was purely a guy and his guitar and maybe a couple of friends on drums and base. A time when you either knew how to sing and make a song your own or you didn't make it at all. Well, Paul was all that, and he sure did make it

.

He kept us entertained for the rest of the set with such great music! There was "Sharp Dressed Man" by ZZ Top, Stevie Ray Vaughan's "The House is Rockin", "Rock Around The Clock" by one of the fathers of Rock and Roll, Bill Haley and the Comets along with a brother from another mother, Chuck Berry and his "Johnny B Goode!


Slowing it down a bit I had time to reflect on some memories of my own when Paul began singing "Listen To Your Heart" by Roxette. That set the mood for the next song, and if you are going to sing some oldies, no set is complete without at least one Elvis tune! Paul completed my memory tour with "I Can't Help Falling In Love With You" as my thoughts turned to that special lady of mine. The set was a wrap with Alan Jackson's "Remember When" and yes I think all of us there had some of those "remember" memories as well.


I left the club and somehow the rainy day didn't matter so much anymore. I had the warmth of some amazing times in my life and the hope of more to come. Thanks for the memories Paul, you rock!


Bio:

Paul brings his past experience of singing with his band in RL to the stages of SL. His smooth vocals are perfect with his covers of the 50's, Rock and Country music. Paul covers a range of artists from The Eagles, to Alan Jackson, and his own personal favorite, Buddy Holly.






bottom of page