top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

MrMikie String @ The Red River Saloon 04/08/21

Couple weeks ago, I was at a venue just listening to a singer, passing the time away, and I suddenly get this message. “Hey Trishia! Long time no see!” OMG it’s MrMikie String!! Mikie is another singer from my past SL when I was an assistant to various singers. Never did I have the pleasure of assisting MrMikie, but we did travel in the same circle and had many of the same friends. I attended his shows way back when, probably 2010 or so, loved him then and still do. One word comes to my mind when describing Mikie and that word is real. He is so very friendly, loves his fans, loves to sing in SL and will go out of his way to make one happy with a song request. So, it’s thirsty Thursday and I’m thirsty for some good SL entertainment. Grabbing Neo by the hand, not letting him finish his beer, and off we go to The Red River Saloon to listen to Mikie.

The Red River Saloon is a very pleasant venue owned by Sienna (sienna.thor) and Juri Kumaki. These two ladies are the epitome of hospitality. Big smiles and lots of greetings were given to all the patrons as they entered, and I loved the friendly chatter amongst the people. Neo quickly found the dancing intan while I refilled that beer for him from their gigantic bar, and I immediately found myself very much at home at Red River.


MrMikie has a wide variety of songs that he sings and an extensive song list that would surely please your taste of music. “Running Against the Wind” by Bob Segar, “The Blues Man” by Alan Jackson, “Tin Man” by America and “Over Me” by Gary Pucket and the Union Gap are just a few of the songs Mikie sang. One that touched my heart was “Grandpa” by the Judds. I never knew my grandpas but oh how I wish I did. “Grandpa, everything is changing fast, we call it progress, but I just don’t know. And Grandpa, let’s wander back into the past and paint me a picture of long ago.” This song creates for me a picture of sitting on Grandpa’s lap, telling me stories of perhaps the war, or how he met Grandma. Then he would hug me, tickle me, and take me to the corner store and buy me some penny candy. All an illusion for me, but if any of you are grandpas or grandmas, start telling your kids and grandkids of life long ago. Let them know what life was like for you in your younger years, and you will build a treasure chest of memories for them to last way past when you are no longer here.


MrMikie has so many other country songs (and you know my heart belongs to country) that I could have requested innumerable all night long. “To Make You Feel My Love” by Garth Brooks and “Keeper of the Stars” by Tracy Byrd had those “stars” in my eyes while dancing with Neo.


Anyone remember Kris Kristofferson? Well, Mikie did one of his songs that Kris won a “Country Music Association Award for Single of the Year” award. Mikie’s deep range shone through with this song “Lord”. “Lord what did I ever do that was worth loving you or the kindness you’ve shown?” Remember people you don’t have to do anything for the Lord to love you. Just accept him into your life and heart, and you will live in His kingdom forever. Thank you, MrMikie String, for reminding us of that concept with that beautiful song. And thank you for a magnificent evening of entertainment!! Love you my friend!!





bottom of page