top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Mimi Carpenter @ Kat Vargas Memorial - MS Benefit - 07/11/21

If you have never heard MImi Carpenter before, you really are missing out on something truly special. I had never heard of her (I live under a rock clearly) until she took to the stage at Love Kats for the Kat Vargas Memorial - MS Benefit and I very quickly formed a massive girl crush, for Mimi has one of the most beautiful voices that I have ever heard.


Mimi was one of the last performers to grace the stage at Love Kats, owned by another Kat, Kat Chauveau, and by this time it was about 1pm in Australia and I had been there since 7am. I was tired, my eyes were tired from looking at the screen, my mind was tired from taking notes, I was fading but I kept my mind firmly on why I was there and that was to honour a lady that I didn’t have the privilege of knowing but one that I have come to admire greatly.


Kat Vargas had Multiple Sclerosis, a disease which affects the central nervous system and for which there is no cure, but while there is no cure there is always research to hopefully one day find one, and such was the generosity of all that had flocked to the venue in memory of Kat to show their love, respect and support the donations for the National MS Society were in the high 300K and still climbing when Mimi started her set. I should also say it wasn’t just the audience that gave so generously, the artists, organisers, venue owner and everyone involved in the benefit gave all they could. It makes me truly proud to be a part of this live music community.


Mimi, for those of you who live under a rock like me and don't know is French and when she sings it’s just oh so pure, melodious and gentle. She really does sound angelic and as we were there to honour a much-loved angel, Mimi made for the perfect addition to the benefit.


Starting out with “If I Go I’m Goin” by Gregory Alan Isakow my tiredness was soon forgotten and when Mimi followed up with a French song that I have no idea the title or what it was about I was in my own world, floating on the cloud that is her voice.


Throughout her set Mimi took the time to share her memories of Kat Vargas, from meeting her at the Toronto Jam and being introduced to her famous Buttery Nipples (head out of the gutter it’s a drink), had others that were present joining in with their memories and from stories of public gropings to tequila shots, I got the impression of a lady who loved to have fun.


Forever Young by Youth Group was Mimi’s next song of choice, and I must say that this is a song that always makes my eyes water due to the loss of my sister in law’s son 3 years ago, at an age when he should have been living the carefree life of a young adult, not leaving this world.


As the songs and memories continued Mimi encouraged us all to dig deep to support the National MS Society and dig deep people did for by the end of her set the number was at or over the 400K. An awesome effort.


The songs that Mimi chose to sing from “Watch Over you” Alter Bridge, “Je t'attneds” I'm waiting for you another gorgeous French song, “The Rose” Janis Joplin or Bette Midler was just sooooo beautiful, “One Day” Matisyahu, “People help the people” Birdy “Time after Time” Cyndi Lauper and “Dont Think Twice, Its All Right “ by Bob Dylan seemed to me to all have been carefully chosen by Mimi in memory of her dear friend.


It was a beautiful hour and one that I won’t forget in a hurry. Mimi Carpenter thank you from the bottom of my heart for the beauty that radiates out of you and to Kat Vargas I raise my glass to you, those who love you will ensure that although you’re gone, you will never be forgotten.






bottom of page