top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Midnight McCarty @ Ciera's Gin and Juice 12/06/21

Updated: Jun 13, 2021

I first heard Midnight McCarty a few days ago at Cafe Musique, and I along with the company that I was with was blown away by his guitar playing. (that company included the amazing blues man JimmyT Dukes who, as he listened was full of praise for Midnight's playing) So when I saw that he was at Ciera's Gin and Juice this morning I decided to get along and check him out again.


Now, the first time I heard him Midnight didn't sing he just played guitar, so I was expecting more of the same and was quite pleasantly surprised when I landed to him singing Tom Petty's Learning To Fly. Interesting I thought., lets see where this goes.


Starting the set off on his acoustic guitar Midnight was mellow, his voice softly complimenting the beautiful light way that he played and I thought that I was in for a chilled, laid back hour. Perfect for a hungover kind of Aussie Saturday night after a big Friday night at a band in RL.


I was enjoying it immensely from the comfort of my recliner, it was light and breezy. His guitar playing was very easy listening, his voice gentle and soothing to this aching head, so when half way through the set he switched over to his electric guitar I was kind of disappointed......but the best was yet to come as I was about to find out.


While taking time to tune it, Midnight greeted all of those that had come out to his set individually and after the tuning was done the pace picked up significantly with a string of original numbers, all instrumental and man there was no need for words as Midnight made that guitar sing in a way that it had a voice of all of its own. He was on fire and I was sure that at any moment he was going to self combust with he way that his fingers were flying. It was fast, it was edgy, it was bluesy at times and downright heavy rock at others. The crowd grew over the hour and my screen was filled with gestures of rapturous applause, a clear indication that all in attendance were having a great time.


All too soon it was over and as I went back to the comfort of my SL couch it was with the knowledge that I had just spent an hour in the presence of a true performer. Thank You Midnight.




bottom of page