top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Melenda Baptise @ Sheworthy Pub 06/06/21

Stuck at home with a head cold and having to have a mandatory covid test before I can go back out in the world, I was feeling miserable and sick of being sick so when I saw Melenda Baptise was playing at The Sheworthy I decided to head on over and shake off my self pity.

Melenda Baptise is a pocket rocket of energy, that ray of sunshine on a dreary day that makes you smile and forget your worries. She has such a joyous personality that reminds me of a shaken up bottle of champagne........pop the cork, stand back and watch the bubbles flow.


Tonight's show was full of light hearted fun, just what I needed and before I knew it I was swept away in a conga line for the rest of the show. Now no conga line can be complete without a bit of Harry Belafonte and as Melenda sang Da O - The Banana Boat Song I couldn't help but laugh and sing along


Come Mister tally man, tally me banana

Daylight come and we want to go home


Seriously this tiny woman was singing Harry Belafonte...and Da O wasnt the only one, she also sang Jump In The Line...another perfect conga tune.


The line continued to grow until there were 23 people snaking around the room to Footloose, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, The Shoop Shoop Song (what Cher movie was that from????), Love Shack and Ob La Di. I never would have thought that I would conga to The Beatles but hey its SL so why not.


Before I knew it the hour was over and my spirits were lifted considerably by the incredibly kind woman that is Melenda Baptise. She closed off her show by reminding us to take care of ourselves, take care of each other and to be kind..............something we all need to remember in both worlds. Thank You Melenda


bottom of page