top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg
  • Writer's pictureNeo

Mavenn @ Shooting Star Music 28/8/21

Sometimes we never know what a Saturday is going to bring to us or where it's going to bring us. After spending the morning in RL catching up on some weekend chores I decided to come to my second home and see what was happening. Since I hadn't been to a live entertainment show for a while I started checking listings to see who was where! Glancing at the time I thought hmmm I have just enough time to head over to Shooting Star Music, one of the great venues run by Wolfie Starfire, flightlessangel (Angel) and Paragon Melodious and featuring Mavenn at the top of the hour.


Now there's blues and then there's BLUES, and I want you to know Mavenn falls into the "this is BLUES" catagory. Sultry voice? ohhh yeah... her rendition of "Turn Me On" started the set with a hot bang that didn't let up. And did I say Blues? Well don't think that is the only thing in her music bag of tricks. There was Miranda Lambert's " Mr Tinman", and Pat Benetar's "Hit Me With Your Best Shot" done with that "knock me over with your one two punch" flavor! She did a little switch up with Pink's "Who Knew" and then right back at us with Ed Sheeran's hot and wet, "Make it Rain."


I loved her take on Etta's "At Last", one of the great blues numbers that never gets old. Mavenn has a quality to her voice that brings out the best of the blues or rock in the songs she does. My request for "Bang, Bang, Boom, Boom" by the ever great Beth Hart was all I hoped it would be, thanks Mavenn!

Finishing her set with a bunch of great tunes, Uptown Funk, He's So Cold (renamed from the original "she's so cold") I Try, Essence and the finale, "If It Hadn't Been For Love" by SteelDrivers. Mavenn gave us an hour of some of the best music I've heard in a while. If your ears want a treat, catch one of her sets!


Bio:


"Mavenn has so many awesome attributes - ... her voice is pure, natural and in-your-face. You can hear her strong character in her songs, she not only sings with full devotion and soul, with her extraordinary voice and in her own style. No, with each song she tells us her very own story...




bottom of page