top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Marina Sharpshire @ Hogwarts School of Witchcraft (Camp Anatine 25/09/21)

"’Ah, music,’ he said, wiping his eyes. ‘A magic beyond all we do here!'" — Albus Dumbledore


It was Harry Potter night at Camp Anatine and given that I was home from work not feeling great after my first covid vaccine I decided that a little magic was just what I needed to soothe my upset soul, and time spend at Camp is always fun. I love the Harry Potter books and movies and I know that it opened up a whole new world of reading for my kids and hopefully thousand of others, adults and children alike found themselves lost in the magic that JK Rowling created.


I started rummaging through my closet for something to wear. Nope not that, hmmmmm why did I buy that, do I still fit into this............the things I found from 11 years of hoarding. I was just about to give up when I saw a faint glow coming from the deep dark depths. Pushing clothes aside I made my way through the tardis that is my closet, all the while thinking that if I went much farther I would surely end up in Narnia. Finally my hand found the light source and it turned out to be exactly what I needed, my magic wand and jacket from a fancy dress party long ago...I was ready to go.


Landing in the dining room at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft my smile was wide as my eyes were not only drawn to the floating books and candles but in the effort that the Anatines had taken to create a spectacular setting. There was Hagrid (Campo) , there was Hermoine (Jenny), there was Professor Trewanley (Krisie) and of course there was Harry himself (Rads)...but where was Marina? I could hear her giggling but I couldn't see her...weird maybe and sl glitch and she wasnt rezzing for me. Soon her beautiful voice was bouncing off the stone walls of the dining room as she started the night off with Love Potion Number 9. It was then that Jenny pointed out the footprints that you could see moving around stage like someone was dancing. OF COURSE...facepalms..It was Marina and she had on the Invisibility Cloak. Chuckling to myself at the brilliance of that I soon found myself caught up in fun that is always present at a Mariana set. Not long into the set Marina took off the invisibility cloaks hood revealing her hat ...now we had a dancing hat to go with the footprints....would she slowly arrive in pieces, all at once, or not at all...it remained to be seen.


The hour went by way too fast as it always does at Camp and as I was feeling unwell I sadly had to say my goodnights and go rest, missing out on Krisie, who was up next.


Did Marina appear? The pictures tell it all :). A fun hour spent in the company of fun friends.


Songs included

Abracadabra

Good As Hell

You can talk to me

Bad romance

Watermelon Sugar High

Magic Man

Xanadu









bottom of page