top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Laidback Celt @ Trenchy's Resort and Scuba 23/11/21

Updated: Dec 23, 2021



It was hump day in Australia and I was coasting through the day ready to slide through the rest of the week into the weekend in a pretty cruisey kind of way. I had no where I needed to be and was just chillin at home with the horses and dogs in the somewhat overgrown garden that I cant be bothered mowing when a group notice from Music Hall Of Fame popped up on my screen informing me that Laidback Celt was playing at Trenchy's Resort & Scuba. I figured that anyone with a name of Laidback was my kind of person and someone that I should definitely check out. As I had never been to Trenchy's Resort and Scuba before I would be expanding my horizons with both artist and venue.


Trenchy's is owned by Paul & Jandra Sahara Trenchcoat. It's an open air venue on the beach with 2 large wooden deck areas to dance on, one for live performances and one for DJ's. Separating the two areas is a licensed bar with plenty of comfy chairs to sit on if you don't feel like dancing. It is surrounded by the ocean, small islands and palm trees and has a relaxed tropical feel to it.


Upon landing I was greeted warmly by owner Paul and host Zoffy, both of whom did a great job at keeping the banter in local chat light and fun throughout Laidback's set making for a really friendly atmosphere. My first impression of Laidback or LB as he is known was purely as a woman looking at a damn fine man...I know I know I keep doing that, but SL is a very visual place and LB is extremely easy on the eyes (it was the plaited goatee that got me)


Standing on stage with his acoustic guitar LB addressed the audience, explaining that he had been unwell for the past week and hoped that he could sing and not sound too rusty. Starting out with Jethro Tull's Locomotive Breath, I was an instant fan as I have loved Jethro Tull since I was a young girl of 13, showing my age here. While all my school friends were listening to Culture Club, my brother had me listening to the Broadsword album (thank you brother). Grabbing a song list as LB launched into Roxette's She's Got The Look, done country style, I found that it was extensive, covering a lot of great rock and country artists. Deciding on a song that I haven't heard in years I sent LB an IM that had him singing it next and remarking that he hadn't sung it in a while but it was a good fun song and one he enjoyed. My choice was Squeezebox by The Who and as LB sang it I was chuckling as the lyrics never fail to amuse me.


Mama's got a squeeze box

She wears on her chest

And when daddy comes home

He never gets no rest

'Cause she's playing all night

And the music's all right

Mama's got a squeeze box

Daddy never sleeps at night


Bad Things by Jace Everett was up next and LB had me wishing that I wasn't single as my oh my I could have done bad things to someone after that version, for LB has a voice that sounds like it was soaked in a vat of bourbon and left hanging in a smokehouse for a few months. Its that years of playing in a smoky bar kinda rough voice that I love. Marshall Tucker Band's Cant You See and Dobie Grey's Drift Away had me reaching for my phone and adding them to my spotify as LB was once again reminding me of songs that I haven't heard in ages. I love it when I go to a gig and hear songs from my past that make the memories flutter by.


A fast paced Irish ditty called Another Irish Drinking Song by DaVinci's Notebook certainly made me want to do a jig and had me wondering how LB's voice was holding up after being unwell. Finishing the night off with Bad To The Bone by George Thorogood, where I could hear his scratchy growl coming though, Elvis's Burning Love, Black Crowes She Talks To Angels, one of my all time faves and Fleetwood Macs Oh Well LB gave it his all and delivered an hour of great music.


I was impressed, so do yourself a favour and check him out, not forgetting to slap on his tag so you too can ask yourself "got laid yet????????".




bottom of page