top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg
  • Writer's pictureNeo

Keeba Tammas @ TAO Festival for Feed a Smile - Burning Dragon 16/7/21

I got a notice earlier today advertising the "Together as One" festival benefit for "Feed a Smile", so I thought I'd try to take in at least one of the sets since it is such a worthy cause. The one that seemed to work best for me, since we all have days where we juggle SL and our RL,, was the 11 am slt set featuring Keeba Tammas and the Tiny Maniacs. I wasn't prepared for what I saw or heard, but what a great time it turned out to be! Now let me say right here, Keeba's manager Rissy Feiri was a great help to me with song titles since there were a few I didn't know. Also I'd be remiss if I didn't mention what a great venue it was thanks to the owner/operator 11Winter11 who along with Holly Giles put on the "TAO event. So many thanks to both.


Keeba started her set with Jefferson Airplane's "Somebody to Love", and then burst into "White Rabbit, another JA tune that is all about following your curiosity. Well I sure was curious as I watched this band of tiny maniacs strumming, pounding, and dancing as they played their various instruments. Next was Raise Your Glass, and Zoot Suit Riot. Talk about energy! Keeba's "Johnny's got a Boom Boom" was one I hadn't heard before, but what a great dance tune that had the place jumping!


Then it was the Maniac's turn with B52s "Dance This Mess Around". Man them little dudes (and dudettes) had that place rocking! Keeba took over again from there with such greats as "We Don't Need Another Hero", "We Built This City", and "I"m Coming On So You Better Get This Party Started". Then it was a trifecta of Elvis songs by those Maniacs again doing "Jail House Rock", "Hound Dog" and "Blue Suede Shoes". Keeba better be careful cause these guys are real "show stealers"! She was able to grab the mic back for "Dreams" by Fleetwood Mac before yielding it again to the Tinies for "I'm Just A Tiny In A Rock & Roll Band" and "Uptown Funk". Way too fast, the set came to a close with Keeba summing it all up with "Freebird".

I can't remember when I've been so pleasantly surprised and had such a fun time but it was one of those memorable ones for sure! Thanks Keeba and Tiny Maniacs! You all Rock!


Bio:


"At the age of four my mother plopped me on a stage, at the age of 15, I began recording voices for cartoon and commercial work. I put myself through college by recording jingles, traveling the country performing at fairs, malls, and amusement parks. I spent the 80's singing lead in bands. Real Life called me away from music but now this amazing world we call Second Life gives me the opportunity to perform once again.

With my husband's help I have created the vast majority of tracks I use and those that are not my own have been "enthusiastically tweaked". My musical tastes are extremely eclectic: jazz, blues, rock, pop, disco, punk, folk... I will tailor the set to your venue and taste. I have been performing in SL since 2007 and most recently have been performing with my backup band, "The Tiny Maniacs" ! Actually, I am starting to wonder if they perform with me--or I perform with them!! I invite you to watch my descent into dementia!"




bottom of page