top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Jesika Wirefly @ Midnight Blues 20/11/21

Zoffee Blues has built a fantastic venue in Midnight Blues. It’s the kind of place where you'd expect to hear The Blues delivered informally, with feeling, as they might swirl around among friends late in the evening. I was there, as part of my efforts to expand my musical horizon and this comfortable, familiar venue didn't disappoint. In addition to the welcoming staff, the guests were warm and accepting, helping with my education.


When Jesika started us of with a solid version of Train's "Soul Sister", I was expecting a rather standard set of great covers. Standard, because a lot of us here like "the hits" and a lot of singers here like to give us what we like. I was gratefully disappointed, that Jesika wasn't singing to give me what I wanted, but to show me what I needed to hear. Her second song was the Kim Carnes hit "Bette Davis Eyes", as staple from my testosterone laden teenage years. Jesika reminded me how important it was to slow down and enjoy the good things with her jazz version. The sultry tones she emitted had a similar effect to me at my advanced age as Dana Hart's eyes had on me when I was 17. Reminding her audience we can't always be in control, and how versatile a performer she is, she belted out Carrie Underwood's "Jesus Take The Wheel" with the kind of depth reserved for large stadium shows and the best studio albums.


Continuing my much needed education in various genres of music, in this case smooth jazz, she schooled me in the richness of Corrine Bailey Rae's "Trouble Sleeping", followed up by a favorite of mine Cyndi Lauper's "Time After Time". Each of our kids (RL, ladies, settle down) has a song. My eldest's is Frankie Valli's "Can't Take My Eyes Off Of You". I really, truly enjoy this song. As it turns out, I think I like the Erikah Badu version even more. Certainly, I'll be requesting it from Jesika in the future. I'm not saying the next song was a dedication to me, but after she sang it, I could see why someone may think Joss Stone's "Dirty Man" was about me. (And who was peeking in my mind as she was singing anyway?).


Next up on the "Expand Rad's Music Interests" hit parade was a new (to me) favorite, "You take me the way I am" by Ingrid Michaelson which flowed into a beautiful delivery of Emeli Sande's "Clown". As we neared the top of one the fastest hours I've had in SL, Jesika sang the great stalker song "Every Breath You Take". And the Police didn't even take a statement for all the Jesika Stalkers in the audience. Finally, she closed with a brilliant version of Etta James "At Last". Ending a fabulous set.


After 10 years on a Second life break Jesika returns to the SL music scene. Singing is part of who she is and she would love to share this with Second life once again. Jesika sings many different styles of music. Both old and new. She takes songs and gives them new life with her beautiful voice. She is a naturally gifted artist who has come into SL to fulfill her dreams. She displays a very touching personality which is incorporated through her shows and achieves a great audience response. She excels singing R&B, Pop, Country, Easy Listening songs (but probably anything she tried).


I hope you'll track her down and join me at a show soon!




bottom of page