top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg
  • Writer's pictureNeo

JAQUEE PARX@CAFE MUSIQUE 26/7/21

You’ve probably heard the joke about the guy that was lost and says to this guy he meets on the street, “hey how do I get to Carnegie Hall? The other guy looks at him, snaps his fingers, and says “practice, man, practice.”


Well Cafe Musique, owned by Laya Sugarplum, has become known for featuring some up and coming new artists, as well as some well known great talent in SL, and today was no exception.

I arrived shortly before Jaquee Parx took the stage and found a spot where I could just chill and listen to this gal I’d not heard before, and I wasn’t disappointed.


Jaquee is a British girl who comes from a family of talented musicians and has had that same passion for music throughout her life. Jaquee noted that she found it difficult to express her feelings until she found that release through song, and I'd have to say she does it well.


Her first song was Hallelujah done by several artists but my favorite being Leonard Cohen. She sang it with such feeling that I know Leonard was looking on thinking, "you go girl!" Her next was the song "Only You" by Yazoo, and I loved the "latin flair" of it! She swung into, "She's Got The Look" by Roxette, and if you weren't hooked by then, you weren't breathing.


Jaquee showed her versatility when she slowed things down a bit with "Baby I'm A Fool" by Melody Gardot, Do you like something Bluesy now and then? Well Jaquee met that need with a 1956 Ella Fitzgerald number, "Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered". Now this has been done by too many artists over the years to mention them all, but Jaquee gave her own touch to it, and it was ohhh so good! Following that, but staying in that same zone, she hit us with the sexy and sensual, "Feeling Good" by Michael Buble and "Come on Home and Turn Me On" by Nora Jones. I have to say, about that time I was wishing Trish was here with me, but I'll be sure and... ahem...tell her about it tonight.


Jaquee then graced us with "Walking After Midnight", an old Patsy Cline favorite, and a classic bye Brenda Lee, "Sweet Nothings."

Finally, I could see time was getting away from us so I requested "My Immortal" by Evanescence, which is one of my gal's favorites, and I have to say Jaquee did an amazing job with it. She wrapped up the set with "Perfect" by Fairground Attraction, and it really was a "perfect" ending. Thanks for a great hour of entertainment Jaquee Parx! As Arnold would say.....I'll Be Back....




bottom of page