top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Jakbnimbl @ The Sheworthy Pub 20/04

I was pottering around my land today attempting to do the gardening, but as Sugar my golden retriever was enthusiastically digging up the flowers as fast as I was planting them, thinking she was helping I soon gave up and wandered back inside. I was standing in the kitchen having a cold drink, pondering what else could be done without dog interference when a group notice caught my eye. An artist that I hadn't heard before, Jakbnimbl was playing at The Sheworthy Pub in 30 minutes. Deciding that the rest of my chores could wait I threw on a change of clothes and with a stern warning to Sugar to leave the garden alone I hailed a cab and headed on over.


I arrived at The Sheworthy just as another artist was finishing up, so grabbing a seat at the bar I dug out my notebook and pen from my tardis of a handbag as I looked around. Quickly spotting Jakbnimbl I did what all good bloggers do, yeah I read his profile :) and I then found myself eagerly waiting for him to take to the stage, for it seems that Jak is an award-winning artist in that other world who has shared the stage with the likes of Bruce Hornsby, the Allman Bros., ELO, John Mayall, Buddy Guy. Can you see why I was excited..... he, also like many other performers we have seen over the last few years is back in SL after taking a break. Welcome back.


Starting out with SRV - Cold Shot, I paused in my note taking to just listen and immerse myself in Jak's sound as his voice and guitar playing was so damn good. Now I cant describe guitar playing at all but I can describe how it makes me feels and his version of that great song by the iconic man that left this world way too soon was not only downright bluesy, it was sexy, it was HOT. I wanted to hear more!!!!!!! Waiting On The Bus/Jesus Just Left Chicago by ZZ Top was equally impressive while Soulshine by Allman Bros had me closing my eyes, swaying in my chair and softly singing along. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood by The Animals (aren't we all) was as soulful as it was gritty. I was loving this set.


Changing to his acoustic guitar Jak gave us a folky version of Nexus by Dan Folberg followed by a very sweet, earthy and to me, thoughtful, Gentle On My Mind by John Hartford/Glenn Campbell. An original, Testify came next which showed that Jak is not only an accomplished vocalist and guitar player but he is also a gifted writer as well.


The hour was over way too soon with Jak announcing that he only had time for one last song and the song that would be his closing was Somewhere Over The Rainbow. It was the most beautiful rendition of that song that I have ever heard. It was simply heavenly and after I went back home I headed over to Jak's website to see if I could listen to it again only to be disappointed to find that its one song that he doesn't have on there.


Jakbnimble it was an absolute pleasure to spend an hour listening to you perform and I will be back time and time again. Thank You for returning to SL and sharing yourself with us.









bottom of page