top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Holly Giles @ Rockstar Island Christmas Event 16/12/21

Updated: Dec 23, 2021

In Australia we have several national icons, The Great Barrier Reef, Uluru, the Sydney Opera House, the bridge, Vegemite, Tim Tams, the list goes on, and today I am so excited that as the self appointed icon decider I got to add Holly Giles to the list, for not only is she an icon, she is surely a national treasure....sucked in rest of the world , she is Aussie and ours (oops sorry Winter............nah not really sorry)


I have heard Holly play many times but today it is the first time that I have blogged her (slaps myself) and as she was playing at Rock Star Island's day 2 of their grand reopening Christmas event it was, for me , the perfect opportunity to add my thoughts to paper.


Rock Star Island is owned by Canuck and Coffee Dismantled and boasts a lineup of great musicians weekly. Its a stunning winter venue set high in the Aurora Borealis where as you dance the snow falls gently upon you (reminder to always wear shoes and a jacket Harlow) Grabbing a friend we headed on over and settled onto a couple dance pad (dance balls to come soon) just in time to hear Holly's partner, the amazingly talented Winter finish his set.


When Winter's set ended the ever professional Holly came on stage and apologized for her croaky voice due to sitting in a room of smokers at a family celebration the night before.. Let me tell you ladies and gents, as she kicked off with the beautiful Christmas carols, Silent Night and Winter Wonderland she had nothing to apologise for as she has the voice of an angel.


After the carols Holly changed it up with the rocking tune All The Small Things by Blink 182 and then the most gorgeous version of Landslide by Fleetwood Mac that I have heard, while her version of Lord's Royal gave me goosebumps. Ho Hey by Lumineers (The) was up next before Holly switched it up again with SOB, that great fun song by Nathaniel Rateliff. Brand New Key by Melanie had me smiling as did Melissa Etheridges , Like I do, a song that I haven't heard for years, but one all of us women can relate to when relationships end and he finds another.


Baby tell me does she love you like the way I love you

Does she stimulate you, attract and captivate you

Tell me does she miss you existing just to kiss you

Like the way I do

Tell me does she want you, infatuate and haunt you

Does she know just how to shock and electrify and rock you

Does she inject you, seduce you and affect you

Like the way I do


Ironic by Alanis Morrissette was the perfect song to follow on with and George Ezra's Budapest was just sublime.


Finishing up with a song that I relate to the extremely talented Jack Dryden, Holly gave us a version of Merle Haggards Momma Tried that was just simply brilliant and had me singing and dancing in my chair.


What a fantastic hour, I am still smiling...and Canuck and Coffee, we look forward to your wedding.





bottom of page