top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Gary Jonstone @ Southern Lights 17/04/21

I first saw Gary Jonstone about 6 months ago when my best-friend Sean and I were looking for someone different to listen to and while I cant recall where it was that Gary was playing that day I do remember being suitably impressed, so when I saw that he was going to be at Southern Lights tonight I decided that it was time to dust off my cowboy boots and head on over.


Southern Lights is a new country venue that has been open for about 2 months now and when I landed I was made to feel very welcome by Manager, Crystal Teskat. I arrived just as Gary was starting so quickly jumped on one of the dance pads in the huge venue and got ready to get my boot scootin on.


In RL I live a tiny country town in Far North Queensland , Australia, where country is all they play on the tv at the local pub, and if someone dares to change it to rock, its quickly changed back again with a stern warning from the publican. As Gary sang in a voice that makes country downright sexy, (he even has the twang and y'all down pat) I could clearly see myself watching him on the screen at my local as I drank beer and played pool on a Sunday afternoon.


I found myself singing along out loud (sorry to my family) to 6 Days On The Road and The Thunder Rolls (that fantastic Garth Brooks tune) and thought to myself..hmmmm if this is what country sounds like then maybe it isn't so bad after all. Gary mixed it up with upbeat tunes that kept his audience on their toes and the classic country songs of boy meets girl, love lost songs that had me getting a little sentimental about a recent lost love of my own.


Before I could get too maudlin though Gary launched into a fave of mine, Tennessee Whiskey. Now, Chris Stapleton happens to be one country artist that I love and I have heard Tennessee Whiskey sooooo many times by different artists in SL that I was a little hesitant, as Chris has that raspy, husky voice that many cant reproduce and Gary didn't even try. He just took that song and made it his own and what an awesome version it was!!! I thoroughly enjoyed it and even got my daughter out of her bedroom to come listen to it as well. A fantastic hour spent at a great new venue.


If you like your country then get yourself down to Southern Lights and throw your support behind this new venue, and while you are there check out a bloody good country artist Gary Jonstone who hangs his hat on the rack and plays there every Saturday night.(as well as other venues around the grid) I will be leaving my boots by the back door ready to catch another show real soon.





bottom of page