top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Funky Freddy @ Kat Vargas Memorial - MS Benefit 07/11/21

Funky Freddy had the honour of closing out the Kat Vargas Memorial - MS Benefit tonight and as he walked up to the stage I took a look at the total raised so far and saw that it was over the 400K mark. The crowd had thinned out as parts of the world went to bed but those that were still in attendance kept reaching into their pockets to give generously to the National MS Society in Kat's memory....what would it be by the end of the hour?


Before kicking off Freddy took the time to say that although he hadn't known Kat Vargas all that well he was thrilled to be taking part in the benefit and encouraged us all to continue donating to this worthy cause. He also mentioned that he had just been granted Canadian residency and as such could now play gigs - congratulations on that Freddy.


Starting out with his acoustic guitar Freddy gave us an absolutely beautiful, laid back version of Bob Marley's "Waiting In Vain" and Neil Young's "Sail Away" had me thinking that I seriously doubt anyone could listen to Funky Freddy and not be eased into a calmer more relaxed state of mind. Both were wonderful renditions of great songs. An original came next with Freddy paying homage to his time spent in New York and showing us just what a talented writer he is. Pausing before his next song "Dolphins" by Fred Neil, Freddy gave us a bit of insight into the song and the artist explaining that Fred Neil left music and moved to Florida where he spent years working in dolphin conservation. Alway good to get a bit of the history behind the song.


Switching to his electric guitar Freddy gave us John Lennon's Working Class Hero and Bob Dylan's "All Along The Watchtower" a song redefined by Jimi Hendrix. Freddy explained that he loves Dylan's songs as the way that they are written, you are able to take the raw template of the song, run with it and make it your own, and make it his own he did. A great version and the way he stroked those strings sent shivers up and down my spine.


Changing back to his acoustic guitar Freddy closed out the hour with The Rolling Stones "You Cant Always Get What You Want:", The Bands "The Weight", Neil Young's "Don't Let It Bring You Down" and a song that had me really laughing out loud "Plastic Jesus", a hilarious American folk song written by Ed Rush and George Cromarty in 1957


"I don't care if it rains or freezes

Long as I've got my plastic Jesus

Ridin' on the dashboard of my car

Through my trials and tribulations

And my travels through the nation

With my plastic Jesus I'll go far"


What a great ending to an amazing benefit in Kat Vargas' memory. I hope that she was smiling down upon us all and that we all did her proud. At the end of Freddy's set the total was 444 000L - or 1895 USD and as I said my goodbyes and tp'd out another donation was coming in. A truly wonderful event and I am honoured that Droppin The Stream could play a part in it.


As for Funky Freddy, I highly recommend getting along to one of his shows. You will be guaranteed a good time.





bottom of page