top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg
  • Writer's pictureNeo

Dexter Swansen @ RockStage Dream 22/5/21

Saturday afternoons can be "hit or miss" when it comes to catching a great set in SL. Not that there aren't great artists but sometimes the time zones and RL interruptions make it next to impossible to hook up with one. Today was the exception for me when I checked events and saw DEXTER SWANSEN was going to be playing at ROCKSTAGE, a great outdoor venue owned and operated by DJ Ray (raymond breda) and with lots of room to dance. I'm always looking for musicians/singers that I haven't heard before, so I headed over to ROCKSTAGE and arrived just as Dex (as he prefers to be called) was taking the stage.


His opening number, "Beds are Burning" by Midnight Oil set the tone for some "burning down the house" Rock and Roll! Without a break he jumped into"20 Century Boy" a T-Rex number, and some smash guitar. Easing up a bit on the strings, he moved into "Why Did You Do It" by Stretch, but then right back to some groovin rock, with "Fashion" by the late, great, David Bowie.


It has been a very long time since I've heard much rock in SL (my fault no one else's), and I was treated by Dex to a plate full! He barely gave me time to catch my breath as he "Hit It" with Superstition, Spirit in the Sky, and then a favorite of mine by Bryan Adams, "The Only Thing That Looks Good On Me (is You!)" which of course got me wishing Trish was here with me (a little priming the pump doncha know:). After that, it was hit after hit after hit with such greats as "Sharp Dressed Man and Tush" by ZZTop...if that don't put the WOW in your wow...nothing will! Dex went on to rap up the set with my request, "Every Breath You Take" by The Police, "White Wedding" by Billy Idol, "I Just Can't Get You Out Of My Head" by Kylie Minogue and his Peace de Resistance finale, "Silver Machine by Hawkwind. I left ROCKSTAGE feeling like I'd just been treated to one hell of a great smorgasbord and also knowing where I need to go to get those rock and roll batteries recharged!


Bio:


Dexter is a great vocal talent that brings so much humor, laughter and fun to the stage. Dexter plays in bands all over the UK in RL and shares his passion for music here in SL singing a wide variety of genres from 60's to 00's. Dexter is a real entertainer who makes concerts a special moment and is one of the reasons his crowds are always happy.

80's pops are his specialty but also sings ballads and Rock with his powerful smoky voice. Don't miss out, join him for fun laughter and of course the Music.




bottom of page