top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Dee Freund (Dilah Halostar) at Blues Seduction 29/05/21

Tonight I went over to Blues Seduction, a great venue owned by Tone Uriza (see previous post on him) to hear Dee Freund, an artist that I have fast become a fan of. Sitting at her piano Dee started the night off with Alannah Myles Black Velvet and as I listened I was reminded of a poem that I stumbled on a while ago called A "Voice like Honey" by Bosiar.

It starts out


"Soft the music teases, her voice like liquid to the ear,

honeyed chocolate notes caress my soul.

Cool vibrations ride the wind, so gentle are their touch,

with each chorus my heart to take a stroll"


This poem could easily have been written about Dee as she has indeed got a voice as rich as honey and as she sang in my mind I was transported to a smokey bar in New Orleans where the whiskey is plentiful and the blues seep from the floor boards under your feet and enter deep into your soul. For a hour Dee's voice took me on a journey through time as she sang the songs of Billie Holiday ,Bonnie Raitt and Johnny Cash just to name a few. Her mash up of a Mozart and Gershwin tune showed just what and exceptional piano player she is, but it was her stripped back version of Gary Moore's "Still Got The Blues" sung slow and sexy that had me whispering sweetly in Jase's ear of things to come when we got home. Dee Freund, your incredible voice and talent will have me coming back time and time again.




bottom of page