top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Chris Darkstone @ Swamp Water Bluz 31/07/21

I was having a gardening day today, not paying too much attention of the group notices that popped up on my screen, but out of the corner of my eye I saw a notice that Chris Darkstone was playing at Swamp Water Bluz tonight. Hmmm who is he I wondered but as it was still an hour away I went back to my gardening……………trying to find that perfect spot for a garden chess set is hard (nerd I know)


A while later I saw the notice pop up again and decided that this guy was someone I probably should check out. As bloggers we are always looking to promote live music and I knew that if he was playing at Swamp Water he would be good. Quickly changing out of my gardening clothes I headed on over to the swamp. Swamp Water Bluz, owned by cousins Mina Weissbrod and QueenPhyra has quickly become the place to go to if you want to hear some great blues and tonight I was not disappointed for Chris Darkstone proved to be all that and then some.


If you like your blues sloooooooooow, if you like your blues laid back, if you, like me love Eric Clapton and JJ Cale then Chris Darkstone is a man you are gonna want to hear because as I listened to him sing and play those are the two artists that I was instantly reminded of, and at one point Mina messaged me to say that he reminded her of Clapton too.


As I landed to Little Sister I was immediately smiling as Chris sang it in a way so unlike Elvis, it was bluesy, it was sexy and I knew that I was in for an hour to remember, and as he continued to play, Chris took me on a musical journey through the peaks and valleys drawing my focus to the story being told through his captivating soft vocals end expressive solos.


Taking us through time with songs from some of the all time greats such as BB King, Sell My Monkey, Hendrix, Hey Joe and Redhouse, Albert KIng, Crosscut Saw, Gregg Allman, Rendezvous With The Blues, Chris at one point said that he could feel the music rolling through his body connecting to his soul.


I was fast on my way to becoming a fan and when Chris played my all time favourite Clapton song Tore Down, a song not played in SL by many, the deal was sealed. He had me hook, line and sinker and I will definitely be back time and time again to hear more of Chris Darkstone.


Do your self a favour, get over to Swamp Water Bluz, where the gators are only friendly if you feed them and check Chris out.






bottom of page