top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg
  • Writer's pictureNeo

Cactus Ninja @ The Shack - 18/3/22

Yesterday I had to make a trip back to my hometown for the funeral of a dear friend, and while it was bittersweet seeing some people that I hadn't seen for a long time, emotionally it takes a toll. So, today I decided to make it a "laid back day" and do only what was necessary in RL and then come to SL and check out the "live music" events.


I noticed that my friends at The Shack had a talent that I had not yet heard so decided to mosey on over and give a listen. Wise decision. Cactus Ninja was just about to take the stage, so while he was getting set up, I chatted for a while with Poppy Threebeards and Alsund, co-owners of the venue. They are always so welcoming and pleasant, and the beach setting makes you want to slip off your shoes and go barefoot in the sand. A fun thing after the long and cold winter we have had in the Northeast.


Cactus started his set with "Still the One" by Orleans and followed with Tom Petty's "I Won't Back Down". He then did a song called "What A Little Bit Of Love Can Do" originally sung by Jeff Bridges (brother of Beau) and a successful movie actor. As I listened to the lyrics,


"I heard that you've been feeling down and blue,

But there ain't nothing really wrong with you,

You just need a little tendin' to

Let me show you what a little bit of love can do!"


I couldn't help but notice how smooth Cactus' vocals were, like sweet syrup on a warm pancake! It made me think of the truth of those lyrics. We generally "tend to" what's important to us. Many times love changes everything, and I guessing that was how it was always meant to be.


During the bridge of some songs Cactus cut loose on his acoustic with the most amazing guitar picking I've heard in a while! He massaged those strings, and as one girl in the audience said "played it like he owned it!"


Then there was "Playin in a Band", and "She's a Ginger Girl" I'm thinking it was about his favorite red head maybe? "Doctor My Eyes" by Jackson Browne, and "Only a Good Woman" by The Bacon Brothers. My favorite though was the next one, "Tennessee Whiskey" by Chris Stapleton, and Cactus nailed it! Talk about smooth... I'm sure that whiskey never tasted so good....


He finished up his set and some amazing riffs on that acoustic guitar with Tom Petty's "Mary Jane's Last Dance", "Get it Right Next Time" by Gerry Rafferty and "Long Way to Paradise"one of his originals . Cactus doesn't just play that guitar, he makes it talk to you! Lastly, was his rendition of "Runnin Down a Dream" also by Tom Petty. A great finale of a really great set! Thanks Cactus!


Bio:


Cactus Ninja (aka Tom Sayers) has been a lifelong guitarist, bassist, singer and songwriter, having played all styles of music (save bluegrass and classical). He started very young, blessed with a keen ear and has listened/studied music by the best guitarists since the late 60’s as well as being influenced by Jazz, Broadway, Country, Blues, Brazilian, Latin, World and Ambient/EDM. He has played with Natalie Cole, opened with his own band for Talking Heads and Todd Rungren/Utopia and others and recorded/produced his own music in major and local studios. Now in SL as solo/guitar artist showcasing his own originals as well as classic favorites. A new website is under construction, but you can hear some of his work at, https://soundcloud.com/user-512009167.





bottom of page