top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg
  • Writer's pictureNeo

Brenna @ Brazen Head Irish Pub - 10/1/22

As I sat here trying to think of a way to begin this blog my thoughts were jumbled with things that have taken place over the last few weeks. Christmas and New Year celebrations, another new variant, things that have brought a mixture of joy, blessings, and concerns. I was reminded of one of the reasons I'm grateful for SL and my ability to come to my home here and shut out the RL world for a while.


That being said, last night as I perused the events, I saw an artist that I had yet to hear so decided to head on over to

Brazen Head Irish Pub and catch BRENNA's set. First let me say, this pub is a great venue! Owned and operated by Karlton Deezul and Thalia Pleides, it has exactly what you would expect to see in an Irish Pub....a huge bar in the center of the room!..grin.. But seriously, I love the layout...a good sized stage in the corner of the room, and hall of fame pictures of some great blues and jazz and pop artists lining the walls. Off to one side there are a few sitting areas with some very comfortable looking chairs in the event you rather just listen instead of dancing.


I found a spot on the floor where I could view the stage, just as Brenna was about to begin. She said a few "hello's" to the audience and began her set with "Let Me Touch You For Awhile" by Alison Krauss. It wasn't a song I was readily familiar with but my interest was more in Brenna's voice, and I was thoroughly pleased. Her tone was spot on and her diction great so no struggling to understand lyrics here! She followed with a couple of Beatles tunes, "You've Got To Hide Your Love Away" and "Treat Me Like You Did The Night Before".


Most impressive to me however, was the sexy shift in Brenna's voice as she started singing "Black Velvet", an Alannah Myles favorite of mine. Brenna had that raspy throaty sound that makes that song soooo great! It had me wishing Trish was here with me...swaying to the tunes.


I requested the song "No One Needs To Know" by another favorite artist of mine, Jewel. Brenna did it proud and I loved it!

Right after that number Brenna did another voice shift (I don't say change because she has awesome pipes but knows how to work them according to the genre!) and did three in a row by Shania Twain, "You're Still The One", "No One Needs To Know", and "I'm Gonna Getcha Good". Did she add a bit of a twang in places on them? You bet she did!


Brenna tossed in some "Give Me One Reason" by the rock/folk singer, Tracy Chapman and then a cool number by that "queen of rock and roll" Tina Turner and "What's Love Got To Do With It", bringing on that sexy, and throaty style again.


Singing "These Boots Are Made For Walking", was a great "throw back" by Nancy Sinatra and I could almost see Nancy in those knee high white boots...but I digress.. lol


Brenna finished up her set with "Dimming Of The Day" by Bonnie Raitt and "Alone" by Heart. A great ending to a really great set. I also need to add that if you look at the number of songs done, she was there to give you what you came for! Thank you Brenna for an hour well spent. I look forward to hearing more from you. ;)


Bio:


Brenna has been a paid stage performer since age 7, and has a formal education in vocal performance. She delivers, every single time, providing you with an hour of palpable, non-stop entertainment.


In the high art sphere, specializing in Bach and Mozart, Brenna is classified professionally as a lyric coloratura soprano. Brenna also teaches voice lessons, and has given master classes in performance technique.





bottom of page