top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

bFlat Unplugged @ Billy Bob's Underground 01/01/2022

Updated: Jan 6, 2022

"One of the best Blues Singers on the grid! Blues and Rock come together perfectly when you've got that special mix of whispery, raspy, strong, deep, earthy, and sexy all rolled together in one classic package. bFlat Unplugged most certainly does and delivers it like no other."


It was New Years Day in Australia and my head was hurting just a little when I saw the above notice listed in events and I suddenly recalled a while ago when I was at a Jimmy T show at Swamp Water Blues, bFlat arrived and Jimmy was so excited to see him and praised him as one of the best blue players on the grid. I made a mental note then and there to make sure to check bFlat out, but until today I never had the opportunity to do so.


Tonight's venue was Billy Bobs Underground, a hippy, trippy bar room with the most awesome art adorning the walls. A large bar takes up most of the back wall, and what made me chuckle was the sign next to the bar advising if you were going in it may be wise to grab one of the free shotguns on offer - which I did....just in case. There's plenty of seating and more than enough room to dance in front of the huge stage, so settling in a spot I did just that as host Love graciously added me and others to her hud.


Little was I prepared for the hour that was in store for when bFlat took to the stage, joined by the Underground Band, and started the night off with a blues song that I didn't catch the name of as I was too busy picking myself up off the floor as his voice just knocked me out of the park. This is a man who knows his blues and knows just how to sing them. Think slow, think sexy, think sensual, think music to make love to, that's what BFlat was delivering. Ladies and gentlemen he is the real deal and just when I found my eyes were glazing over in a trance bflat mixed it up with some smooooooth jazz and some slow, mellow rock tunes , showing just how versatile a performer he is.


If I wasn't already a fan I certainly became one when bFlat gave us his version of Tom Wait's San Diego Serenade, which for a Tom Waits fan like me was simply sublime. That gravelly, guttural voice like Toms isn't one that many can pull off, Monty Peccable and Paul Nowles are two artists that come to mind who can and bFlat most certainly can as well. It was for me the highlight of the night.


After the set had ended I messaged bFlat to thank him, especially for the Tom Wait's song, we chatted for a few minutes and he sent me a copy of his songlist. I am glad that I didn't have it during the show as when I looked at it I knew I would have been in bFlats im's filling up his hour with requests...we would have had to call it the bFlat and Harlow show. LOL


An outstanding performer that I will be back to see again and I strongly urge you all to catch him at Billy Bob's Underground whenever you can.


Song List

Charlie Musselwhite - The Blues Overtook Me

Kenny Neal - I Smell SMoke

John Lee Hooker - I'm in the Mood

B,S&T - God Bless the Child

Little Feat - On Your Way Down

Tom Jones & Cerys Matthews - Baby It's Cold Outside

Michael Franks - Popsicle Toes

Michael Franks - The Way We Celebrate New Years

Tom Waits - San Diego Serenade

Steppenwolf - Snowblind Friend

Queen - Who Wants to Live Forever

Cody-Kirchen - Hot Rod Lincoln


About the venue - Luke Flywalker owner tells me "We have been in this location for about 6 months. We had the same club at another location so all to together we have been doing these shows since last spring. About 9 months. We also run MtFB Radio and internet radio station. This show is being streamed over it. MtFB stands for Music to Fly By Radio"



Underground band


lead guitar - Diana Tie

bass - Kyle Osceola Stormfury

drums - BillyBob Flywalker

keyboards - kana sakuraba










bottom of page