top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Aubryn Melody @ The Blarney Stone Irish Pub - 4/6/22

Updated: Jun 6, 2022

Sometimes you go to a club to hear an artist that you've never heard before, and you go with that niggling in the back of your mind.... is this going to be worth it, am I just wasting my time?

Well let me tell you, my trip to The Blarney Stone Pub today put all those thoughts to rest. Aubryn Melody was a singer that blew any doubts out of the water!

I need to take a hats off to Jane Mercury, the owner/manager of the Blarney Stone Irish Pub. Every time I've ever been she has nothing but quality singers! The club is typical Irish with a cool bar and stools in the center and a dance floor around the sides. The walls reflect the love of the Irish with some great posters and pictures. It's a great set up and proof that bigger is not always better and has a wonderful intimate feel to it.


As I continued on with my write up of this set, I began thumbing through my book of adjectives (not really lol) for ways to describe what I was hearing. Aubryn's voice is unique, distinct, filled with emotion and feeling, and the range is incredible. It doesn't take a genius to recognize (or maybe it does, but at the very least an awareness) that you are in the presence of greatness. If you know me at all, you know I'm not saying that lightly. Aubryn is a woman that is sure of herself, one who knows where she is going with each song and is inviting you along for the ride.


In between songs she does this humming..and tapping the guitar as she strums or plays the melody. It keeps you engaged as she moves into her next song. I asked Trish, "what's that called that she's doing" and I got tapping the guitar and strumming. Wish I could have given it to you more flamboyantly, but there you have it. LOL


Her first song was "If I Can't have You No One Can" - by Yvonne Elliman and then moving on to "One More Time" by Britney Spears.


Trish requested the song "My Immortal" by Evanescence and before Aubryn did it, you could hear her trying different keys to make sure she got it in her vocal range. That's a rarity that I've never heard anyone do before but makes perfect sense. I've listened to a few that could use that trick... ;)


Her next song was a request by me and a favorite, "To Make You Feel My Love" by Adele, Aubryn gave it the exact feel that is in my heart, and what my heart would say if it could speak.


Aubryn said her next song was an original that she has just written for someone for Fathers Day called "My Best Friend" and who had commissioned a song for that special occasion. She went on to say that she will write songs about anything for anyone, and, of course, is compensated for it but I did find that rather amazing that she is even able to do that. Such a talent.


There was always some humming and struming between numbers as she set up for the next song. Such a nice touch.

Her final numbers were "Say It Ain't So" by Calurnia and also a singer named Weezer. "Walking In Fields of Gold" by Eva Cassidy, also done by Sting and Celtic Woman. And of course, the finale, "Fat Lady Singing" by Sweet Home Alabama.


An amazing set, an even more amazing talent, and an "you don't want to miss it" for you who are reading this. She's a one of a kind. I promise.


Bio:


Apparitions, twisted fairy tales and murder most foul. Aubryn weaves folk and a diverse mix of musical styles with unusual and often supernatural subject matter to create a genre-busting sound you might call Americana Gothic. Her songs are filled with memorable characters and unique perspectives that make the listener question who is the protagonist and who is the villain.


Musically fearless and possessing an incredible vocal range, Aubryn will enthrall you with her melodies and hold you captive with her engaging and provocative lyrics. Her songs might just drive a stake through your heart.


Catch her streaming a couple times a week in SL and 4 times a week on Twitch at https://twitch.tv/AubrynMusic.

For booking etc. please email aubrynmusic@gmail.com






bottom of page