top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

ANZAC DAY 25/04/21 (not a music blog)


ANZAC Day (Australian New Zealand Army Corps) for me is sacred. It's a day to honour the men and women of my country who fought and still do to make Australia the greatest place in the world to live. ANZAC Day commemorates all Australians and New Zealanders who have served and died in all wars and for as long as I remember have been at the dawn services, rising early and making my way to the Centopath in whatever place I live in at the time to pay my respects to all of the service men and women of Australia, past and present. Since covid its been different and the services havent been held....instead we have been encouraged to "Light Up The Dawn" by standing in our driveways with candles, etc and so for the last 2 ANZAC days I have done just that.


This morning it was cold and raining, my daughter was complaining about wanting to be back in bed, until I reminded her that our diggers didn't have the luxury of an umbrella or a warm bed as they fought for us, and if they hadn't fought for us she wouldn't have that choice. Disrespect for our servicemen has no place in my world. I wear my heart on my sleeve and am an extremely emotional person and standing in the rain under my red umbrella while The Ode was read, The Last Post was played ( sends shivers down my spine) and a minutes silence was observed I shed a few tears as I reflected on those men being ambushed as they landed at ANZAC Cove, on April 25 1915, many who weren't men but young boys. How easy we forget what they went through to make a future for us. I for one never forget and I am forever thankful, forever grateful.


8 000 Australian men died at Gallipoli in 1915. 8000 fathers, sons, husbands, uncles...many of who were just boys themselves


Lest We Forget and Thank you


The Ode


They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;

Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.

At the going down of the sun and in the morning

We will remember them.


The Last Post




bottom of page